advice needed on linux fot a total newbie
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: advice needed on linux fot a total newbie

advice needed on linux fot a total newbie

hello

can some one help me with linux....my problem being im totally new to computers in general.....
    and i have 2 computers (when i say new i been using ms windows for 18 months)..and before i became security minded thought i new a fair bit(since visiting this webby ive realised i dont even know 1% of the basics)..and have read in lots of posts how good linux is...

so what my point is i have a
    amd 650mhz 256 ram 64 mb ati rage graphics computer sitting on the floor not been switched on for 8 months or so....so was thinkin of formatting hard drive and installing linux to see how it went

but to be perfectly honest havent the first clue regarding drivers or basically anything(until 4 weeks ago i aint even heard of linux never mind installing it)

so am i best "going for gold" so to speak install it then pick it up as i went along or am i going to be totally unprepared as the only systems i ve ever used are ms windows?????
    i need to know all the basic dumdass stuff you can tell me ......when ive looked through websites/posts everyone assumes you sorta know a liitle bit about it so i sorta understand some stuff but other stuff is confusing me......is the operating system as easy to pick up as windows????

please help and remember i know nothing (manwell faulty towers)

thanks all help welcomed

waterboy
    a man with hole in his pocket feels cocky all day

waterboy,

To speak the truth... it's really difficult, more if you only know Windows. I know members here will give you many links to tutorials, because, personally, this is the only way for you to learn and it could take you a long time to do it. Don't be "afraid" at first if you don't get too well with Linux programs, consoles, commands, etc., if you read enough to start absorbing the knowledge you will get a very powerfull OS for sure.