websense?? help!!!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: websense?? help!!!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    84

    websense?? help!!!

    i am a student and my institution of learning has implemented websense
    it is to block porn and such.. well i am an advid gamer and play a online textbased game and one morning i found i was blocked by websense so i tried a few things to get around it and was successfull in tryin to type the url without www. i would type the word that comes after the www. and then the .com and it worked. if you must know its antrophia
    instead of www.antrophia.com i would type antrophia.com and was successfull well due to more porn and people being arses i found my game site to be blocked here is a link or links i get so you can see http://www.searchresult.net/landing...%2Ecom&flag=181
    or this
    http://www.searchresult.net/landing...966433&flag=181

    or this http://10.160.139.222:15871/cgi-bin...sion=3680189891

    this is becommin a pain in the bum and i would like to rack the brains of AO members and see if they can provide me the means to be a happy gamer i live here and there really int nuttin better to do but game after school i appreciate any views on this subject and would greatly appreciate a solution to solve my delima till im up and playin again im not a happy camper thanks
    again im not askin to break anything just to circcumvent websense :-D
    My only fear in death is comming back reincarnated.

    \"Would I ever sh*t you?\"
    \"Of course not you are my favorite turd.\"--E5C4P3

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    100
    go talk to the admin when they realise you are only doing something fun and educational and if you only do it in your spare time they may let that site be exempt from the banning
    Just because you don\'t see it doesn\'t mean it\'s not there

  3. #3
    Senior Member cwk9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,211
    You could try http://www.anonymizer.com/ just type the name of the page in the "Try Private Surfing FREE" Box and it will use a proxy to get the page for you. Although lots of sites are blocked including Antionline and Gamespy.
    Its not software piracy. Iím just making multiple off site backups.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    84
    thanks but when i go to http://www.anonymizer.com/ page is blocked " The page cannot be displayed" Im sure they got it locked down i talked to the admin and he said he has no controll over it its the home base in texas and im here in pittsburgh pa (!! Go Steelers !!) sorry but had to represent lol
    anyway any one have any more useful tips????
    My only fear in death is comming back reincarnated.

    \"Would I ever sh*t you?\"
    \"Of course not you are my favorite turd.\"--E5C4P3

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    309

    proxy

    Hi E5C4P3,

    I have enclosed a list of proxys.The list is long but, who knows, you might get lucky.Or not you'll have to make a call to Pittsburgh .

    Good Luck

    Dr_Evil

  6. #6
    Shadow Programmer mmelby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    291
    As the administrator of Websense for my company I can tell you that if they have it configured properly you will have a tough time getting through. Websense can be configured to allow access to things like gaming base on times of the day. I agree with Dahvid, Go talk to the admin and see if he will allow you access on "off" hours. If it were presented properly to me I might consider it

    Good Luck.
    Work... Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    84
    omg ok thanks for the proxy list and i would like to know b4 i go off on a tangent andd try all these proxies "will they work"?? i just dont wanna waste time lol the list is awfully long lol thank you for your info ill let ya know if i have success or fail thanks
    My only fear in death is comming back reincarnated.

    \"Would I ever sh*t you?\"
    \"Of course not you are my favorite turd.\"--E5C4P3

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    84
    i ahve had 0% success i am behind a firewall also lol man this is painstaking
    maybe i should just give up admins are pointing fingers in the texas direction or its "not my problem" although there is a certain comp that can access ppages others cant and its the only comp on a hub so maybe there has to be a factor for the hub to get around?? also the proxies i cant even get them up or working would you please educate me in the operations of proxies? i dumb lol
    My only fear in death is comming back reincarnated.

    \"Would I ever sh*t you?\"
    \"Of course not you are my favorite turd.\"--E5C4P3

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    84
    ok i beat websense for now i did this http://babelfish.altavista.com/
    and u convert it from like say chinese to english im back to gaming and all that thanks guys i appreciate it

    and im back to square 1 didnt work it did but the game is pas protected and i dont think the translator can resolve it but it still allows me use to game sites i was not able to get to

    If you can make it to the babelfish.altavista.com, do a 'translation' search to Google.com using the method above (any language to english) Then, search on "Public Proxy" from within the Google search, and you'll find a listing of free public proxy servers you can use. They're all on port 80. (www.amazon.com is my favorite for this, bless their hearts). THEN, open up your browser connection controls (Tools, Internet Options, connections in IE), go to proxy server and enter one of the servers with port 80. If you have local intranet stuff, you'll have to check the box that says bypass proxy server for local addresses...

    Here's a listing from www.publicproxyservers.com to save you the steps above. Just choose an IP and put it in the 'ol proxy setting. Those of you who are locked down and can't access your browser settings are pretty much stuck to translating everything through babel.

    Anyone know if employers can track activity when using a free proxy service?

    Enjoy!
    it works lol im in and playin la la la
    My only fear in death is comming back reincarnated.

    \"Would I ever sh*t you?\"
    \"Of course not you are my favorite turd.\"--E5C4P3

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    84
    dr evil u daman proxy beat it i used this one server.eotvos-ajka.sulinet.hu
    its slow but does the job in a pinch thanks and here is some positve points
    if ya got a faster proxy u get some more green pm me with it

    case closed
    My only fear in death is comming back reincarnated.

    \"Would I ever sh*t you?\"
    \"Of course not you are my favorite turd.\"--E5C4P3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides