Two PC Connections to Blueyonder..

Thread: Two PC Connections to Blueyonder..

Two PC Connections to Blueyonder..

Hi Addicts / Senior Members and Close to being Banned boys,[/glowpurple]

I am a newbie help me!!
    Ok it goes like this.been working in computers for years, Selling Firewalls, AntiVirus, PCs, URL Filters and threat assessment kit.

Ive now got to pcs at home both running windows 98 and 2000, I have a Cable Blue Yonder connection and want to share it between the two pcs.
    My question is how do I hook them up so I can use both PCs on the internet at the same time?
    1.) Do I need a hub OR a switch or are they the same thing?

2.) I havent got a firewall so what do I do about the Dynamically assigned IP from my ISP? Do I need to employ NAT?

3.) Thirdly and this is really dubious but the modem provided by my ISP is a Webstar cable modem,
    It has three ports:
    One goes out to the internet (cable coax type thing)
    One (RJ45) connects the first pc to the cable modem
    The third port (USB) according to the manual can be used by a third pc to connect up to the internet.

Can I trust the manual? Is it lying to me?

If you can use the USB port (not that I want to) will it slow the pcs connection the web? Also the second PC is about 10 meters away, Can you buy a 10 meter USB Cable?

Thanks for the help guys.
    VicE$Dos$ - visit - If your really bored.
    I remember when Nihil was ickle. Does that mean I'm old?

Best thing to do in this situation is do what a lot of home users are doing - just purchase a decent home router with a hub or switch (no, they are not the same thing), hook your cable modem to the switch, then wire all of your PC's to the switch or hub. The switch will perform NAT, so you really aren't concerned with your dynamic public IP address.