Thread: Trying to Secure a linux box

Trying to Secure a linux box

Hi,

I want to set-up a webserver on my linux 7.3 box. Soo i have doing some secruity checks running things like nessus and saint.And then i read somewhere to see if i have "world writable directories" by running this command
    find / -perm -2 -type -d print <------- Good idea or is there a better way?

And here is the output:
    /dev/shm
    /var/lib/texfm
    /var/spool/vbox
    /var/tmp
    /tmp
    /tmp/.font-unix
    /tmp.ICE-unix
    /tmp/.X11-unix

Can someone explain what this means and how can i make thses more secure and not writable? Would i just run
    chmod u=rwx "each directory" or do some of these files need different permissions?

Here is another command:
    find / -type f\(-perm -04000 -a -user root\)-print

Im just a newbie to the linux world and still learning soo r these commands a good idea to run or ... I am running iptables my firewall too.

Here is a tutorial written by problemchild on this very subject
    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=234199

hope it helps
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work
    http://muaythaiscotland.com/

Well, you really want to leave all the stuff in /tmp and /var/tmp directories alone. They are world writable for a reason, so that apps and users which need temporary space can write to them. If you tighten those permissions down, you will probably find that a good many of your services and apps fail spectacularly.

None of those directories should be available to an outsider through your webserver anyway, unless it is grossly misconfigured.

Keeping an eye on world writable directories is definitely a good idea, but, be careful in /tmp and /var/tmp.

I would also suggest that you download the hardening scripts called Titan. Here is a link.

http://www.fish.com/titan/TITAN_documentation.html