Linux - RH8 KDE Shutdown Option
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Linux - RH8 KDE Shutdown Option

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    26

    Linux - RH8 KDE Shutdown Option

    KDE doesn't show the the shutdown
    option when gdm (Gnome Display Manager) runs (This is standard when you just
    installed RedHat and you boot into init 5). You will have to change the
    display manager to KDM (KDE Display Manager), you can do this in some file
    in /etc/X11R6/
    Does anyone know what file I should be looking in and what I will have to change?
    [shadow]The hunter who chases two rabbits catches neither[/shadow] - Zen Master

    All programmers are playwrights and all computers are lousy actors.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    394
    what exactly are you trying to do?
    just shutdown, or display a shutdown icon in KDE?
    you could use shutdown -r now "shortcut icon", or, log off and shutdown from the login prompt thing.
    Hmm...theres something a little peculiar here. Oh i see what it is! the sentence is talking about itself! do you see that? what do you mean? sentences can\'t talk! No, but they REFER to things, and this one refers directly-unambigeously-unmistakably-to the very sentence which it is!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    26
    I would like to enable the shutdown option when clicking logoff.
    [shadow]The hunter who chases two rabbits catches neither[/shadow] - Zen Master

    All programmers are playwrights and all computers are lousy actors.

  4. #4
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    /etc/X11/prefdm

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    26
    if [ "$DISPLAYMANAGER" = GNOME ]; then
    preferred=gdm
    elif [ "$DISPLAYMANAGER" = KDE ]; then
    preferred=kdm
    elif [ "$DISPLAYMANAGER" = XDM ]; then
    preferred=xdm
    Do I have to set the environment variable $DISPLAYMANAGER??? If so how?
    [shadow]The hunter who chases two rabbits catches neither[/shadow] - Zen Master

    All programmers are playwrights and all computers are lousy actors.

  6. #6
    Webius Designerous Indiginous
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    1,123
    The prefdm script runs the preferred X display manager (gdm if you're running GNOME, kdm if you're running KDE, or xdm if you're running AnotherLevel) based on the contents of the /etc/sysconfig/desktop directory.

    it will usually just have

    desktop="GNOME"

    or whatever

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    26
    I had seen this but was unsure. You've been a great help thank you.


    Just tried it restarted x/rebooted and nothing happened. The Red Hat login screen is still using gdm.

    Trying to reply but AO is just editing my last post... Whats going on???

    Just tried it restarted x/rebooted and nothing happened. The Red Hat login screen is still using gdm.
    [shadow]The hunter who chases two rabbits catches neither[/shadow] - Zen Master

    All programmers are playwrights and all computers are lousy actors.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •