IIS probs
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: IIS probs

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    86

    IIS probs

    hey guys,
    I put IIS on my box so I could develop ASP code.....the problem is it dosen't work . The server is running and the default web site is started by I keep getting HTTP 500 every time I try to surf to it and I have no idea why.

    TIA

  2. #2
    Senior Member tampabay420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    953
    What kind of network are you on?
    That might help some of the AO members answer your question.
    Try giving as much info as possible without giving your location/ip/etc away ;-)

    <edit>
    Sorry that i posted without an answer, just trying to help...
    Try Google: http://www.google.com/search?q=IIS+E...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
    </edit>
    yeah, I\'m gonna need that by friday...

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    86
    Originally posted here by tampabay420
    What kind of network are you on?
    That might help some of the AO members answer your question.
    Try giving as much info as possible without giving your location/ip/etc away ;-)
    I just have this running on my home box. It's not going across my LAN. But I can't even go to http://127.0.0.1 without an http 500 error

  4. #4
    AO Decepticon CXGJarrod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    2,038
    Ratman: What about "http://yourexternalipaddresshere" or "http://localhost/" ? (No quotes of course)
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    86
    Originally posted here by CXGJarrod
    Ratman: What about "http://yourexternalipaddresshere" or "http://localhost/" ? (No quotes of course)
    That worked....wonder why it dosen't like the IP addy form?

  6. #6
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    I'd look at your permissions/configs in IIS. This is usally where you will find what is causing problems like this.

    Also, check what's going on in your HOSTS file.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •