Weird Windows 2000 Problem
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Weird Windows 2000 Problem

  1. #1
    Gray Haired Old Fart aeallison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, Missouri USA
    Posts
    888

    Question Weird Windows 2000 Problem

    I have been trying to fix an annoyance with my win2k box that I use to access the internet. It seems that almost (not always) every time I enter info into a form that page will stop responding for roughly 2 to 3 minutes (seems like hours when I am in a hurry) I have tried everything except reformatting my hard drive and starting over, at least I think I have checked everything, this is why I am writing this post. I really hate having to start over especially when I still have over 30 gig free on my system for storage. This only seems to happen in Internet Explorer, it does not even send any packets until the freeze up is done. While this is going on I have checked my CPU usage = 0, mem usage is normal, and looking at the running processes shows no significant activity at all, I have also ruled out trojans an virii that may be collecting info....

    Does anyone have any idea what I might try to find out why this is happening? This has turned into a personal vedetta between my computer, (Inferno), and myself. ( I used to call him Slagheap but I think he may have been insulted by that )
    I have a question; are you the bug, or the windshield?

  2. #2
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    I'm assuming you've installed IE6sp1? There are a couple of other patches for it too.

    I had that problem for a short bit... but don't remember if it was just with forms. It seemed to happen with a lot of pages. That happened until I applied SP1 for IE6.

    You might also want to check your "security" and privacy settings, via tools -> internet options.

    Play with them a bit and see if any makes a difference.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  3. #3
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867

    Re: Weird Windows 2000 Problem

    Originally posted here by aeallison
    This only seems to happen in Internet Explorer, it does not even send any packets until the freeze up is done.
    Well just an idea, but before you blow away your whole system, have you tried to upgrade IE? Not sure what version your running, but an upgrade might get things back in order.


    Cheers:
    DjM

  4. #4
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    Hi,

    I did some searchin' on freezing of explorer, there are quite a few topics found,
    so i hope you can find a solution here.

    http://computing.net/

    Take a search on 'Freeze explorer' in Win2K

    Let me know if it was useful.

    Greetz
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  5. #5
    Gray Haired Old Fart aeallison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, Missouri USA
    Posts
    888
    Hi .: Shrekkie :.,
    I tried your link and found this thread, almost identical problem, Only I am running SP3 for win2k and IE6.0.2800.1106, sp1. It seems that I may have a problem with my radeon card or drivers...I just replaced my TNT2 card with a radeon, no...it was doing this before the change....anyway this guy never got it fixed yet...I'll try some more searches there, thanks I had never been to that site.


    http://computing.net/windows2000/www...rum/18943.html

    <edit>I am adding a link to this thread that I think may solve my problem, I have downloaded a patch from AMD, a registry hack, that is supposed to be the fix... Wish me luck I am rebooting now...</edit>

    http://computing.net/windows2000/www...rum/15995.html
    I have a question; are you the bug, or the windshield?

  6. #6
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    aeallison,

    Thumbs up here !
    Hope your prob got solved, if it didn't got fixed, we 'll search again.

    Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    aeallison,

    Is your IRQ 11 being shared like some of the other folks in that thread ?

  8. #8
    Hi mom!
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,103
    Check the location where your temp-files are saved by Internet Explorer (cookies and stuff as well) and check if that location is valid. Also, check if you're making/trying to make network connections to locations that are unavailable.
    I wish to express my gratitude to the people of Italy. Thank you for inventing pizza.

  9. #9
    Gray Haired Old Fart aeallison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, Missouri USA
    Posts
    888
    Check the location where your temp-files are saved by Internet Explorer (cookies and stuff as well) and check if that location is valid. Also, check if you're making/trying to make network connections to locations that are unavailable.
    Guus, my temp files are A-OK

    Is your IRQ 11 being shared like some of the other folks in that thread ?
    sumdumguy, sort of, mine are all sharing irq 9

    Thumbs up here !
    Hope your prob got solved, if it didn't got fixed, we 'll search again.
    Well, No I reinstalled all of my service packs, IE 6, video drivers, AMD patch, turned off every service I could that still lets me get on-line and browse, and I still am having the identical problem, It seems the only peeps that have made it work are using Invidia cards and the Detonator 2 drivers. I am surprised that no-one here at AO is experiencing this bug in win2k.
    I have a question; are you the bug, or the windshield?

  10. #10
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    aeallison,

    Normally you can force some IRQ's in the BIOS.
    Couldn't it be some conflict of some device all wanting something at the same time,
    so some processes are delayed until the CPU has done.

    It's also a little geuss, but as we can see in those threads , the problem could be an IRQ and/or Resources problem.

    You can always try do install the new Detonator 40 from Nvidia (geforce & TNT)

    http://www.nvidia.com/view.asp?IO=winxp-2k_40.72

    Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •