Linux & FAT32??
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Linux & FAT32??

  1. #1

    Linux & FAT32??

    Didnt know where else to put this so it just got dumped here...

    I just installed Linux for the first time, and i put it on a clean fresh hard drive. It was fine but if i wanted to boot win98 i had to swap hardrives (not much for me because i always have my box open). but then i discovered how to use the linux booter to display a boot menu. I added the other harddrives no problems and got the menu working but then it wouldnt boot...the win98 drives were FAT32s. anyone know how to get around this without losing all of my data?

    "I would find this humerous if not for the pig on my back..." - Dilbert 1996
    THEprophetMOSES

  2. #2
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    I don't quite understand what you did. You installed both hard drives and used a boot loader?

    Which boot loader? How are your drives setup... which one is master, which one slave, and how do you have your boot loader configured?

    You can boot a m$ and *nix and the file systems don't matter. The linux box will only be able to mount a fat32 w/o kernel tweaking anyway(if you are booted into linux).
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  3. #3
    OS: Corel Linux
    Primary Master: Linux
    Primary Slave: CDROM
    Secondary Master:Win98SE OS (FAT32)
    Secondary Slave: FAT32

    I used the LILO booter with corel linux.
    THEprophetMOSES

  4. #4
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    Check to see that your lilo.conf file is configured like it describes here.

    Make the appropriate changes to suit your system.

    http://www.acm.uiuc.edu/workshops/li...tall/lilo.html

    Like... here

    # Win95 bootable partition config begins
    other = /dev/hda1
    label = win95
    table = /dev/hda
    # Win95 bootable partition config ends
    change to the appropriate settings for your slave drive.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  5. #5
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,534
    Usualy the drives are like this..

    /dev/hda Primary Master
    /dev/hdb Primary Slave
    /dev/hdc Secondary Master
    /dev/hdd Secondary Slave

    so your windows partition in lilo.conf should (propably) be like this..

    other = /dev/hdc1
    label = windows
    table = /dev/hdc
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    482
    OK, this happened to me one time so i am not sure if this is what you are talking about.

    Linux, hates windows. and when you put a windows boot into the linux boot, particularly GRUB, it wont accept it. the way i got around this was, re-installing linux from scratch(new partition ect.) and during the installation add the windows boots. it should work properly after that. just after its been installed and then you add a windows boot it seems to play up??
    - Trying is the first step towards failure. the moral is never try.
    - It\'s like something out of that twilighty show about that zone.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1

    Post some ways to heaven....

    Hi, this is my firt post in this forum!!! And started with a Linux topic. What a joy!!

    The problem here is that Win98,95,Me does not boot if it is not the primary master in the first partition. Yeah that's Lame but I have probed with a lot of configs and Win9x,Me jus worked that way. Windows 2000 Worked just fine in any partition of any Drive master/slave, primary/secondary.

    My suggest.

    Crappy one:
    deinstall all OSes and reintall so the Win98 is in the first partition of the first Drive. The problem of just moving around the drives is that Lilo or Grub look out for the root directory called /dev/hdax so if you move it as secondary or slave it will be /dev/hdb or /dev/hdc so it woul not boot. Do this:
    make a boot disk with the Lilo command as root writing the new config in the disk something like this (this is my conf)
    --- lilo.floppy.conf ---
    boot=/dev/hda
    map=/boot/map
    install=/boot/boot.b
    prompt
    timeout=50
    message=/boot/message
    linear
    default=linux

    image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.2-2
    label=linux.bak
    read-only
    root=/dev/hdb5

    image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.4.18-19.7.x
    label=linux
    root=/dev/hdb5
    read-only

    other = /dev/hda1
    label = windows
    table = /dev/hda
    --- EOF ---

    lilo -vC lilo.floppy.conf

    fool around with the disks and put the disk as
    Win primary master
    Lin secondary master
    other ones as u wish
    use the fdisk of the boot flopy disk as this fdisk /MBR. this will reformat the main boot record for the win98 Disk
    boot Linux with the floopy and reinstall the Lilo or Grub.


    The Easy one

    Upgrade the win 98 or install Win Nt/2k (I don't know if Xp boot anywhere. I don't recomend WinMe)

    Hope it is usefull

  8. #8
    Thanks alot u guys ill try ur suggestions and see how it goes. It was my first try at installing linux (even first time using linux). By the way I think my lilo.conf file was set win98 for hdb from memory so yeah ill have to check that.

    It probably has nothing to do with FAT32 anyways...
    THEprophetMOSES

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    100
    i always install the windows os first in the first partition then linux. linux is more flexible than windows and i have never had any probs.!. once i installed linux first and i had the same problem . so i agree install windows first then linux
    Just because you don\'t see it doesn\'t mean it\'s not there

  10. #10
    So How do i setup Lilo on the win98 drive as the booter??
    THEprophetMOSES

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •