need help with redhat 4.2

Thread: need help with redhat 4.2

Question need help with redhat 4.2

I have installed redhat4.2 on my second computer and i don;t know where tu put insmod command so that my ethernet card to load the driver at boot. I created rc.modules but it didn't work.

redhat 4.2?????
    hum, we can't exactly say it is the current version of RedHat Linux (which is the 8 I think) you have installed. I'm not a Linux guru (I'm still learning) but I guess that a more recent version of your OS could help you and more than probably solve some of your problems (especially with hardware).
    Moreover a non updated OS is potentially a critical security threat.
    Life is boring. Play NetHack... --more--

I have Redhat 7.1 on one computer (and i have redhat8.0 on cd's). I installed Redhat4.2 on the other one because i don;t have space on harddisk(and i can't aford another one, this is Romania ! ). And I don't have problem's with security because it's a LAN in my room and it's not connected to internet or other LAN's (I want to lern about security so it's probably better if this version it's not secure).

I recently did a Red Hat 6.1 install (dated I know) but it found my network adapter on its own. Perhaps an upgrade is in order? My linux knowledge is limited just completed the install over the weekend.

I did a quick look in a book I have and it looks like a line of the effect
    alias eth0 3c503
    goes into /etc/conf/modules
    The above is for a 3Com 3C503 card -I do not know what yours should be.

That is from Red Hat Secerts Linux by Naba Barkakati 3rd editions.

Hope that Helps.
    Cheers,
    -D
    If you spend more on coffee than on IT security, you will be hacked. What\'s more, you deserve to be hacked.
    -- former White House cybersecurity adviser Richard Clarke