Red Hat 8.0 Internal Modem
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Red Hat 8.0 Internal Modem

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    482

    Post Red Hat 8.0 Internal Modem

    Hey, i have linux redhat 8.0 and i need to get my internal modem working.

    its a PCI Netcomm 56k voice/fax blah blah.

    i need to get this working with redhat ASAP,

    infact, i need help setting my whole internet up with step by step instruction designed for 8.0 and not an earlier version. if anyone can point me in the right direction that would be helpful.

    i really need that modem going.
    - Trying is the first step towards failure. the moral is never try.
    - It\'s like something out of that twilighty show about that zone.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

  2. #2
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    First you go to google and enter in search terms like the exact
    name and model number, along with "linux".

    That's how I found a driver for my modem.

    Also, don't overlook the web site of the modem manufacturer.

    Also check the http://walbran.org/sean/linux/linmodem-howto.html
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    482
    i dont come up with anything except stuff concentrated on laptops and reasoning for internal modems not howto install ect.
    - Trying is the first step towards failure. the moral is never try.
    - It\'s like something out of that twilighty show about that zone.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

  4. #4
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    It may not be supported, but I wouldn't give up until I did a lot
    of searching.
    On the other hand, if you are in a hurry, you'll have to buy one known to work,
    a "hardware" modem, advertised to work in LINUX, MS-DOS, and WINDOWS.
    They do exist, both internal and external models.
    AFAIK, all external modems support linux.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    482
    i know all external modems support linux, the reason is that PCI cards create a virtual irq and dma ect which means that it changes automatically. linux wont pick it up cause its 'vitual' but external modems are always fixed on the same com port. :'(

    *runs off and cries*
    - Trying is the first step towards failure. the moral is never try.
    - It\'s like something out of that twilighty show about that zone.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    968
    The internal modem will be supported too.
    Especially since it's Redhat 8.0 that you're asking.

    Go to sites like Linmodem.org or other sites and look for .rpm packages for your modem and kernel version.

    AS for setting up the actual account, it's kinda simple.

    Just find the dialer for internet access and fill it out. It should be simple to follow.

    if not, try checking redhat's forums on redhat.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    482
    thanks tyger_claw, that seems to be the best response. it looks promising.

    yea, i looked at it and forgive me for my newbie appearnace on this one, but WTF! i can hardly understand this. if someone could check it out and help me out a bit more. that would be good. thanks
    - Trying is the first step towards failure. the moral is never try.
    - It\'s like something out of that twilighty show about that zone.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    968
    What's your kernel version?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    482
    i dont know. to find out i have to boot into linux. i am in windows now and i cant connect to the next through windows, which sorta complicates things alot. i am busy now but i will check when i have a bit more time
    - Trying is the first step towards failure. the moral is never try.
    - It\'s like something out of that twilighty show about that zone.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    15
    how about getting the Installation CD from the vendor himself,
    OR maybe get the prog from the manafacturer's website: netcomm.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •