Agnitum Outpost vs Leak Tests
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Agnitum Outpost vs Leak Tests

  1. #1
    Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    718

    Agnitum Outpost vs Leak Tests

    I was searching around for some info and found this tid bit in Agnitum's FAQ section. I figured I'd post this for any Outpost users who may be concerned by it.

    We are aware that Outpost Firewall passes LeakTest and YALTA; fails TooLeaky, FireHole and OutBound because we have performed internal tests here at Agnitum. This vulnerability was discovered several months ago and we immediately started working on a new version of our engine because we consider this vulnerability is serious. The alpha version of Outpost Firewall being tested right now is able to block all these leak tests.
    From
    http://www.agnitum.com/support/outpo...html#security4
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    339
    hey thanx alot for this i am using outpost now, but was thinking of switching to blackice.now i will for sure, thanx again.

    __________________
    "We live in a world where lemonade is made from artificial flavors and wood polish is made from real lemons"
    Don\'t be a bitch! Use Slackware.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    394
    I'm glad i switch to black ice I alwalys felt it wasn't that secure this justs confirms it.
    thx.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,429
    Ummm. .. EVERY Windows software firewall will fail that test... allow IE acces, and TooLeaky uses IE to 'broadcast' its message...

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    61
    Well, Black Ice fails GRC.com's leak test... http://grc.com/lt/leaktest.htm

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    244
    Originally posted here by Negative
    Ummm. .. EVERY Windows software firewall will fail that test... allow IE acces, and TooLeaky uses IE to 'broadcast' its message...
    Sygate didn t fail the test if you put it in the ASK mode!

    When you get a pop-up warning Look at detail and block the traffic !

    There was apparently no leak.
    Your computer or internet connection is very slow or most likely the grc.com webside is down temporarily.
    Please try again later.

    This doesn t say it is very well defending your box cos most users don t have their firewall in the ask-mode!


    You also need Enable dll authentication


    Sygate did fail with Yalta!But i think Yalta didn t work on my box since their was 0 traffic in the firewall logs and the router didn t blink at all!
    i m gone,thx everyone for so much fun and good info.
    cheers and good bye

  7. #7
    Now, RFC Compliant! Noia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    1,210
    Ugh, I'm not to bothered, it's better than ZA and Black Ice atleast.....oh well..I also have a Hardware Firewall so I'll be fine I think....tanx for the info though.

    - Noia
    With all the subtlety of an artillery barrage / Follow blindly, for the true path is sketchy at best. .:Bring OS X to x86!:.
    Og ingen kan minnast dei linne drag i dronningas andlet den fagre dag Då landet her kvilte i heilag fred og alle hadde kjærleik å elske med.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    244

    Re: Agnitum Outpost vs Leak Tests

    Kerio also didn t fail the test!

    After testing Norton,Outpost and Sygate this will be the firewall i keep!

    You can download it at

    http://www.kerio.com/us/kpf_download.html
    i m gone,thx everyone for so much fun and good info.
    cheers and good bye

  9. #9
    Kwiep
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    924
    Well my hardware firewall pasted all test so far, but kerio and tiny also passed and even a home cooked thing combined with agnitum survived... Securing a pc is not only installing a firewall, it's also knowing what the hell it is supposed to do. A windows box can be secure even without firewall (uh ooh dangerous area, well not 100% secure then ?) if you just set it up darn well...
    Double Dutch

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    88
    I have tested my system with the leak test and ZoneAlarm passes, but most firewalls pass. Passing should be, and is, the norm.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides