Auto refresh....
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Auto refresh....

  1. #1
    Antionline Herpetologist
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,165

    Auto refresh....

    Here's something I found really useful. My ISP boots me after 45 minutes of idle time. However, it only checks for HTTP traffic. So, if I leave a download on ovenight and that download happens to be from an FTP site, I get booted after a while. So here's some source that I wrote to prevent that from happening. I just load the page in IE/Netscape (haven't tested it in Mozilla) and go to sleep. I hope someone else finds some use for it.

    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Auto Refresh - Keep My ISP Connected</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Refresh" content="900">
    </head>
    <frameset rows="100%">
    <frame name="main" src="http://cnet.com">
    </frameset>
    </html>
    Cheers,
    cgkanchi

    Edit: I forgot to say that what this page does is refresh the page in the <frame> tag every 900 seconds.
    Buy the Snakes of India book, support research and education (sorry the website has been discontinued)
    My blog: http://biology000.blogspot.com

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    88
    Indeed, really useful. Wouldn't imagine they would kick you based only on http traffic.. my isp doesn't kick me at all. Oh, I don't know if mozilla or netscape has this feature, but Opera allows you to refresh a page every n seconds/minutes. Quite handy

    Found in a diary:
    \".... and yes, since i am a l337 hax0r, i am also using vi to write this. ^[[D^[[B^ exit ^X^C quit :x :wq dang it :w:w:w :x ^C^C^Z^D\"

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    83
    Fun stuff. :-) Just wondering, though, what ISP are you on? So far I haven't heard of ISPs doing this before.
    To be God is to be Root, if someone is erking you just type: rm -d /home/heathen

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    88
    Tampa: I think there's no need.. check this
    <frame name="main" src="http://cnet.com">
    the page loads cnet.com into a frame every 900 seconds, so that it can still be stored locally. It's what it seems, at least.

    Found in a diary:
    \".... and yes, since i am a l337 hax0r, i am also using vi to write this. ^[[D^[[B^ exit ^X^C quit :x :wq dang it :w:w:w :x ^C^C^Z^D\"

  5. #5
    Antionline Herpetologist
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    1,165
    Wouldn't imagine they would kick you based only on http traffic..
    They do, and I think that's to prevent indescriminate downloading. They don't want too much bandwidth used, but they don't want to set a mzimum bandwidth either. And this way, they take care of most of the users.

    shouldn't you upload the page to a server online?
    if it was on your HD then there wouldn't be any HTTP trafic, right?
    Nope, the <frame name="main" src="http://cnet.com"> takes care of that. The site being loaded (cnet.com in the example) is after all being loaded from the cnet server and not from your hard disk. The only thing I was worried about initially is that the page would refresh from the cache, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

    I'm on an ISP called Satyam broadband in India
    Cheers,
    cgkanchi
    Buy the Snakes of India book, support research and education (sorry the website has been discontinued)
    My blog: http://biology000.blogspot.com

  6. #6
    Senior Member tampabay420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    953
    I stand corrected... Duh! i should have seen that... again- great tip! sorry for my careless post :-(
    yeah, I\'m gonna need that by friday...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    482
    http traffic only?? are you sure. hmm, strange. what is your ISP.

    in australia all of the ISPs will keep you online even if you have msn messenger running
    - Trying is the first step towards failure. the moral is never try.
    - It\'s like something out of that twilighty show about that zone.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •