How to check file permissions ?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: How to check file permissions ?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    393

    Angry How to check file permissions ?

    Hello guys

    I am having a problem, a strange one for that matter.
    I have a floppy disk drive on which i have a file.
    I cannot open it for some reason, it's a MS-WORD file.
    The error is : The document name or path is invalid.
    try these suggestions.
    *Check File Permissions for the document or drive
    * Use the file open dialog box to locate the document.

    I have tried the second option and i have located the file.
    On double-clicking, the same error re-appears.

    Any help would be appreciated.


    -inv
    \"I have a 386 Pentium.\"

  2. #2
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    741
    Try to drag and drop it off the floppy into your my documents folder. This usually will get you around any strange permission problems. will also give it a new path. Also make sure it is a .doc file. let me know what happens when you do this

    ~Spy
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    651
    Correct me if I am wrong (anyone), but if you were able to copy it to a floppy successfully, it has lost any permissions that it once had. This is because you have essentially relocated the file to another physical disk (or at least made a copy). Normally, you would check permissions by right-clicking the file/folder and choose properties. There should be a sharing tab or Security tab - depending upon whether the new location is NTFS or FAT if you were able to move it to your hard disk. However, at this point, it would inherit the permissions of the target location. Confused yet??? I hope I helped.


    t2k2

    Edit: Spyrus is right about the filename. It should definitely be a .doc file. It could be that the file's extension is not recognized by your OS. If the doc is not a word file, it could be that the doc was created in a program that is not recognized by nor installed on your puter.
    Opinions are like holes - everybody\'s got\'em.

    Smile

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    393
    No spyrus, that doesnt help.
    Also, i tried to open with Notepad and it shows jibberish.
    Wordpad says "it cannot open the document "name.doc" "

    Does it mean the file is corrupted ?
    Even if it is, how to change permissions ?

    -inv
    \"I have a 386 Pentium.\"

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    651
    The file could very well have been corrupted somehow during the save from hard disk to floppy. That's not unrealistic. By the way, what OS are you using? I've seen alot of weird stuff happen to floppies when working on Win2k.
    Opinions are like holes - everybody\'s got\'em.

    Smile

  6. #6
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Not sure how important the information on the disk is, but if your willing to shell out a few bucks, you might want to check this out.


    Cheers:
    DjM

  7. #7
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    741
    I would suggest if you are a local admin or a domain admin/power user you stick it into a folder and right click go to properties like t2k2 said and inhert the permissions (take control of it) you go to either sharing or security and there should be a permissions tab. take control of it. now the reason that word pad isnt opening it is because a .doc file is a microsoft word document. I am assuming you are using a windows machine prolly 2k right? Please let me know. OS and if you have the office products.
    Spy
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    393
    t2k2, it was a file made on Word 98, and yes, my OS is win 2k.
    It's okay Djm, it wasnt as important as me spending $80, but i'll try something myself.
    Thanks guys.
    \"I have a 386 Pentium.\"

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    390
    unless the disk is formatted as ntfs, you shouldnt have to worry about permissions.

    try to scandisk the floppy and see if that repairs any degredation. if not, it is most likely corrupt.
    just like water off a duck\'s back... I AM HERE.

    for CMOS help, check out my CMOS tut?

  10. #10
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    741
    as long as the information in this file isnt something of tight security i can open and try to export it to a notepad file if you would like. Just drop me a PM or reply in here and I can get you my email.

    ~Spy
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •