Thread: how did you get started in computers?

how did you get started in computers?

I would like to know how some of you got started and interested in learning about computers.

Personally, for me it all started with computer games, installing them or figuring out why they couldn't run: ram, disk space, processor etc. I was about 14 years old using windows 3.1
    Then I migrated to win 95, this was the first OS I ever installed. Later I was taught a bit of visual basic in school which sparked my interest in programming. Then came the internet so i got intrigued about connections, modems, etc. Finally after many years of being interested in PC's came the time of choosing a career, that's why I am studying IT engineering and telecomunications.

I would like to hear about your experiences.

Thanks

Well, my interest in computers came from a friend of mine known as jin. He wanted to teach me stuff, and you have to know computers to be able to do what he was going to teach me. I started using the computer and surfing the internet, and then i asked my self how is it that i type in an address and the computer finds it and takes me there? That was how i started, i said that i will figure out how this works, and then i came to antionline, and got hooked.

hi

one thing that got me started was when i was 14 (about 10 years ago) i got given an archaic computer called a kaypro (i can't remember the exact model) that ran an os called cp/m (i can't remember how the slashes go), and i used it for typing and printing off homework/assignments, playing games / learning / hacking basic (not that it would do me much good now) and writing poetry and fiction. pity i've thrown away all the data when the computer finally breathed its last breath, i didn't know that 8 years later i was going to find out that there are emulators for it!