Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: something trying to phone home on port 2491 ?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002

    Exclamation something trying to phone home on port 2491 ?

    ok guys and gals..
    I believe this is the first time that I ever asked for some help and I'm hoping
    that someone can shed a little light on what this may be.

    First off.. this is not for me.. but came from an online friend that asked if I'd help.

    here we go from him..
    do you know wtf twixter.net is?

    Been gettin alot of crap spam mails as always to one of my hotmails, and 4-5 a day try and connect to this twister.net site going throu port service port 2491.

    FW blocks it everytime, but its a pain in the bum not even knowing what it is.

    Ideas? and see the "guess who" message (safe to check i think)
    my reply:

    are you sure this isn't some "friend" who's yanking your chain ?
    and gave this info:
    arin says this:

    Search results for:

    OrgName: BellSouth.net Inc.
    OrgID: BELL

    NetRange: -
    NetName: BELLSNET-BLK4
    NetHandle: NET-209-214-0-0-1
    Parent: NET-209-0-0-0-0
    NetType: Direct Allocation
    NameServer: NS.BELLSOUTH.NET
    For Abuse Issues, email abuse@bellsouth.net.
    For Subpoena Issues, please email ipadmin@bellsouth.net with "SUBPOENA" in the subject line.
    RegDate: 1998-03-19
    Updated: 2002-10-31

    TechHandle: JG726-ARIN
    TechName: Geurin, Joe
    TechPhone: +1-404-499-5240
    TechEmail: ipadmin@bellsouth.net

    AbuseHandle: ABUSE81-ARIN
    AbuseName: Abuse Group
    AbusePhone: +1-404-986-8151
    AbuseEmail: abuse@bellsouth.net

    OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE81-ARIN
    OrgAbuseName: Abuse Group
    OrgAbusePhone: +1-404-986-8151
    OrgAbuseEmail: abuse@bellsouth.net

    OrgTechHandle: JG726-ARIN
    OrgTechName: Geurin, Joe
    OrgTechPhone: +1-404-499-5240
    OrgTechEmail: ipadmin@bellsouth.net

    # ARIN Whois database, last updated 2003-02-04 20:00
    # Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's Whois database

    uh.. this may be totally off the wall but do you know a David J Bush ?

    hehehe nah.. probably not.. wouldn't be that easy..

    google doesn't show any results for twixter.net . it has 500 hits for twixter.. and arin doesn't have any record of twixter.. or twixter.net.
    but if it's trying to call home.. my best guess is that you have a trojan/backdoor on your box.

    acording to this port list at http://www.bosconet.org/pjohnson/por...001to2500.html

    it gives :

    2491 tcp conclave-cpp Conclave CPP
    2491 udp conclave-cpp Conclave CPP

    but searching google for Conclave or Conclave CPP didn't turn up anything very enlightening
    later on i suggested that if nothing comes to light that he'd have to conact the admin at bellsouth.. but i have doubts that he'll want to do that unless all the other avenues come to a dead end.. I asked him about what trojan scanners he's using ( i know he stays up on his AV dats) but he hasn't responded yet..
    I'm hoping that by the time he does check in.. that I'll be able to offer him more info.
    (courtesy of you folks)

    any thoughts ? suggestions ?

    TIA.. sdg..

  2. #2
    Gray Haired Old Fart aeallison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Buffalo, Missouri USA
    Visual Route

    Try this program, it helped me during a similar attack I investigated. You can download a free 15 day trial. I hope this helps. Let me know...
    I have a question; are you the bug, or the windshield?

  3. #3
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Hi Sumdum,

    Don't know if you already used this one ? But I always next link, very interesting.


    Let us know...


    The only new thing If ound out was his reverse DNS and that he's alive:

    Ping: 416 ms
    Hostname: host-209-214-105-3.bhm.bellsouth.net

    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Hmm sounds like a trojan/bot or it could be spyware but all that is on the site is
    Guess Who?
    so im guessing that it could be some trojan maybe a worm here is my whois query on the domain

    gtr inc
    3144 Bell Road
    Nashville, TN 37214

    Domain Name: TWIXTER.NET

    Administrative Contact:
    Smith, Brad jb_4510@hotmail.com
    3144 Bell Road
    Nashville, TN 37214

    Technical Contact:
    Smith, Brad jb_4510@hotmail.com
    3144 Bell Road
    Nashville, TN 37214
    sdg did you tell him to scan for trojans virii spyware etc maybe sending Brad Smith an email might resolve why he has something wanting to connect to twixter.net after all he is the registrant of the domain good luck with whatever it is

    edit:the port that is wanting to connect to is reserved for Conclave CPP
    By the sacred **** of the sacred psychedelic tibetan yeti ....We\'ll smoke the chinese out
    The 20th century pharoes have the slaves demanding work

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts