Cisco ends TFTP support
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Cisco ends TFTP support

  1. #1
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883

    Cisco ends TFTP support

    While downloading some IOS binaries on the Cisco site, I came across an announcement that they are no longer supporting TFTP as of January 31st. Being that MANY of their older devices rely on this, I wonder how they plan on integrating their "new" FTP approach?

    Anyone have any info on this?

    Regards!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    144
    what is TFTP?
    BlAcKiE
    GearBlitz

  3. #3
    Priapistic Monk KorpDeath's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,628
    So they are discontinuing support for tftp, bout time. I wonder how many stupid question they get about something as simple as tftp?

    Support will have to come from some other source I take it. You can only upgrade IOS to a certain point. Most of the new IOS's take too much RAM, the older devices don't support the newer software. What's the question here?????

    What is tftp? http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/T/TFTP.html
    Mankind have a great aversion to intellectual labor; but even supposing knowledge to be easily attainable, more people would be content to be ignorant than would take even a little trouble to acquire it.
    - Samuel Johnson

  4. #4
    Leftie Linux Lover the_JinX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Beverwijk Netherlands
    Posts
    2,535
    tftp is one of the simplest forms of file transfer..

    It's the telnet of file transfer protocols , no security measures etc..

    Cisco seemed to have some trouble with it too, last year..

    http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/707...name-pub.shtml
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

    Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    163
    why would they need to use ftp?
    i guess "speed" isn't a major issue but i thought tftp was no fuss.
    is ftp more secure or something?

  6. #6
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883
    I have a $hit load of older 1600 series routers that cannot be loaded with the newest IOS that I need. I mean, I *can* add the newest IOS that only supports IP but I also must have the IP/FW IOS on my devices as they sit between networks that we packet filter.

    I have no idea why they went to regular FTP but if anyone does find out, please post a message and I will do the same should I get the real story from our Cisco rep. I can't imagine that speed has anything to do with it. If I had to guess, maybe they are trying to simplify the update process.
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides