Recompiling kernal and iptables help

Thread: Recompiling kernal and iptables help

Question Recompiling kernal

I have Redhat Linux 8.0 and all my RAM is used up. I have a older computer (300Mhz P2 with about 128Mb RAM). I was told by someone in a chat room that I should recompile my kernal to get rid of any services that are not needed or some thing like that. I'm really new to Linux and am lost when it comes to anything that is documented and not easy to follow. I say this because I've tried to understand some things I've found on the web and they just explain it like you already know what you are doing.
    Only stupid choices remind you of what the smart choices are.

Yes, it's true that compiling a custom kernel can speed up your system and reduce memory usage. But if you are using RH's default Bluecurve GUI, you will get far better results by looking into some lighter weight window managers like Fluxbox or WindowMaker. They have a much smaller footprint than either Gnome or KDE, and while they don't provide as many bells and whistles, they can be a godsend on a low-end system.

But by all means, have a crack at compiling a kernel. Our own ThePreacher has written a tutorial that will get you started here. You should also read the Kernel HOWTO.

The best advice I can give you is to just dive in and try to wade through it, and if you screw it up, start over and get it right next time.
    Do what you want with the girl, but leave me alone!

Thanks for the great help!

I just have some other questions that I probibly should have asked earlier.

1) Can I put the recompiled kernal on a floppy to make sure it works first?

2) How do I accomplish this (I didn't find it in any documentation that was mentioned)?

3) If it works, how do I copy the new kernal to hard drive from floppy and where do i put it?

Again, thanks for all the help!

Hi there...