dialup settings
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: dialup settings

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    147

    dialup settings

    Is it possible to change the phone number used in a dialup connection. I dont mean the number you dial, but your home number.

    I can see how to change the number when creating a new account but not when editing the existing settings.
    I'm on XP
    Mama always said, keep your virus definitions up to date.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    why would you need to change it. the modem dosn't care what phone line its using except for the area code.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  3. #3
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    ...unless you're trying to hide where you're dialing from...
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  4. #4
    AntiOnline Senior Medicine Man
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    724
    Well, even still, the POP/PortSource will record the Caller ID info. I know, I see it every day, when i fill out our capacity report.
    It is better to be HATED for who you are, than LOVED for who you are NOT.

    THC/IP Version 4.2

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    4,786
    thats what i thought DT. i think the guy is under the impression the phone number should be correct for some reason.
    Bukhari:V3B48N826 “The Prophet said, ‘Isn’t the witness of a woman equal to half of that of a man?’ The women said, ‘Yes.’ He said, ‘This is because of the deficiency of a woman’s mind.’”

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    147
    lol, no it's ok you don't need to worry, i'm not a super malicious hacker...I was asking the question for a friend...he's moving house, that's all.
    Mama always said, keep your virus definitions up to date.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    38
    Well if your friend is moving to a new location change the no. to the nearest pop & leave other settings as it is, that should connect him.
    The Power Of Your Imagination:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •