Kazaa
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Kazaa

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    35

    Post Kazaa

    Hey guys whats going on . Well I wanted to know if Kazza had any Flaws . I have notice that my internet speend has droped a great deal when the program is open . I was thinking that maybe i had Leaches that i dont know about . Like people useing my computer to help download stuff . I am on a cable modem . I just would like to here if there is anything I can do to protect myself agenst these Leaches .... Maybe someone could point me the right resorce site for this problem . But any replys will be greatful....... thatx

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    686
    Well first are you using Kazaa Desktop version, or Kazaa lite? And to tell you the truth I think either has some problems. There was actually a thread ust posted today about a possible backdoor in Kazaa:

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=239764

    My suggestion would be to do a google search, and also check out a search on the forums. That will probably give you more information

    PS just look at the listing at the bottom of this post, "Similar Threads"
    [shadow]There is no right and wrong, only fun and boring...
    Formatting my server because someone hacked into it sounds pretty boring to me...
    That\'s why it\'s all about AntiOnline.com!
    [/shadow]

  3. #3
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    Alpa,

    This active thread has a TON of Kazaa info, including an analysis that I have done.

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...hreadid=239764

    Hope this helps
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    35
    Hey .. Thankx you guys . Its just its crazy man like i had 2.2g free last night and know I have like 555 mbs left ... That wild man .... But thankx for the links . Is there a better P2P sofwear out there . O yea I am running the new Kazza 2.1v . -Alpa

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    339
    i use kazaa lite alot, but i believe you should have ethics when using it......as well as be smart while using it.first off get behind a proxy while using it, i use proxycap which you can get from www.proxylabs.com its very easy to use and it works.second make sure you got your firewall running at all times while using it as well as a good AV like AVG which is what i use. and as far as ethics go if you d/l music and you like it go and support the band and buy the cd. it is the only way they make there money besides merchandise.as far as movies and software go....well you decide but me personally i figure if hollywood has 20 mill to give tom cruise then they are not on a tight budget and theres no use going out and spending over a hundread bucks to try M$'s new o/s when it sux anyways and you just wanna be able to play all kinds of games since in order to play some games on linux you have to some coding.....which isnt that big of deal unless your like me and are a newbie in that area.one more thing when you are looking at files to d/l hold your cursor over the file to see more info on it beings how some files claim to be movies like matrix reloaded and turn out to be nothing more then a porn...which gets very annoying after a while.most of it is common sense but youd be suprised how many ppl dont do these simple things and end up with tons of virii and bunk files that they did not want.hope this helped, take it easy.
    Don\'t be a bitch! Use Slackware.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    500
    not sure if this is posted in one of the other kazaa threads, but the other day i was using Kazaa, and I was lagging bad, so i dl'd a bandwidth moniter. It said I had 75 kb/s downstream going and 65 kb/s upload going. In kazaa (the only thing running at the time) I had 3 downloads going at 3 kb/s a piece and NO uploads. I'm not saying it's kazaa, but when i closed it, all the stuff stoped. I think people are attacking kazaa with more then fake files, more of a dos attack of some sort.
    Ron Paul: Hope for America
    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    500
    it posted twice, sorry ;oT
    Ron Paul: Hope for America
    http://www.ronpaul2008.com/

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    35
    Yea that is my maine consern . I just installed Zone Alarm so i hope that will stop what ever is going on . I know i have a virus in my kernal32.dll .. the cray thing is that zone alarm pop up and said that KERNEL32.DLLFFFFA0 was trying to connect to the net .... I dont think that its spposed to be loging on the net ... thankx Alpa

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    96

    Limited Bandwidth

    Kazaa users,

    Unfortunately the badwith problem has long been an issue since early releases of napster. With Kazaa you can download from only, at max, 8 users at a time and most of the users sharing are 56kers. Which, even if you are on a T3, your not going to be able to rip the mp3 from the users computer at any faster rate than they can upload. Also, going into affect as I type, many ISP's and web admins for major Universities are putting bandwidth constraints on file trading through p2p programs such as Kazaa, Morpheus, and others with Programs such as Audible Magic . A new file sharing program available for download that I haven't tried yet is called Tesla. Its, supposedly, going to take the place of Kazaa once they finish the court problems.

    If your still having problems try one of these other file sharing programs, becareful to read disclaimers, most p2p programs come with spyware. One of the only ones I've found thus far that doesn't is kazaa lite(as mentioned above) Anways, happy dling p2p Download

    PS I use Kazaa lite with ZoneAlarm Pro on a Windows XP machine and the only connections that Kazaa tries to establish while opening are

    1. Kazaa lite tries to acces the Internet
    Destination IP: 66.171.50.251: DNS
    Application: Kazaa.exe
    Version: 2, 0, 2, 0

    2. Kazaa lite tries to act as a Server
    Source IP: 0.0.0.0:Port 1214
    Application: Kazaa.exe
    Version: 2, 0, 2, 0

    While connected, no other Zone Alarm Alerts go off.
    ][ neta1o ][

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •