Router/firewall help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Router/firewall help

Router/firewall help

Hello all and ty for taking time to read this. I recently noticed that someone was "tinkering" in my computer and decided to get a router on top of the FW I have. Since I have had the router up it appears that it has been scanning my computer non-stop. Every possible port imaginable is listed from the router ip 192.168.1.1. to my computers internal ip. When I contacted Linksys for help they kinda brushed me off. I am new at all of this and yes I searched all the FAQ's till my eyes bleed lol so that I wouldn't be wasting anyones time.

I have a linksys BEFSR41 router and ZA Pro.

I work in an unrelated field and I am trying but I couldn't figure this out on my own. I have been reading from this site for awhile now and must say that I am learning alot and appreaciate the knowledge displayed here, it is amazing what some of you know about computers!

Thank You again
    Blitz

My recommendation to you is to d/l windump and libpcap which is it's dependency. Just google
    for windump and both of the abv mentioned are there. Once installed take a look at the packets flying across and post a snippet of what it is your talking about. It is unlikely that someone has access to your computer now that your router is up. ZA has some exploits out
    against it though. Anyhoo install what I said and post some of the traffic.

Thank you I will give that a go but do you have any idea why my router is continuously scanning my computer?

The router would not be scanning you computer per se. It is probably just arp traffic your seeing. ie: arp who has this ip 192.168.blah.blah
    If you are being scanned I advise you to d/l a tool called "The Cleaner" by MooSoft. Download
    it and check your hardrive. If this finds nothing then there is something here that makes no
    sense which is why I advised to d/l a packet sniffer.