IDS v's MSM

Thread: IDS v's MSM

IDS v's MSM

Thought im a newbie to security compared to alot of people on this site i have what id call a Mid-Level knowledge and competance. Having being reading alot on IDS systems and MSM (managed security monitoring ) solutions my question is what are the disadvantages aswell as advantages of outsourcing out to MSM (such as Counterpane) companies rather than simply installing an IDS solution like Sourcefire which are cheaper.

Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Hmmm,

Having being reading alot on IDS systems and MSM (managed security monitoring ) solutions my question is what are the disadvantages aswell as advantages of outsourcing out to MSM (such as Counterpane) companies rather than simply installing an IDS solution like Sourcefire which are cheaper.
    If you have read a lot, I would imagine that you would have come across this information. Where did you look for info on this?
    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

Question Thoughts...

You post an interesting question esi1,

Let me ask you this.

Do you have anyone in your organization who is competent enough to install, configure, and then understand the IDS Alerts, Logs and other outputs?

Will that person be able to quickly (a relative term I know) interpret and analyze the IDS logs/alerts? Will they be able to identify a "false positive" among all of the alerts generated?

If you do have someone in your organization with these capabilities, will they be monitoring your network 24/7?

How much will you be paying that person? $70K, $80K, or more? Chances are you'll need at least 3 to 5 people at a minimum to watch your IDS 24/7/365. Remember, the nefarious are working against our networks all the time...