Thread: TcpIp

Question TcpIp

I don't know if this is the right place for this or not. I bought a used dell laptop that looks and works good. It has windows 98 on it. I was downloading my IP setup. It said that the TcpIp was missing. Now I have to fine someone with a 98 disc. But I was wondering if there was a way to download it off my desk top which has windows 98, to a floppy, than load it into the laptop. I'm new at this so thanks for any help.

It's Freddy
    cybnut

When you go to Control Panel and click on Network, it lists nothing? Am I understanding you correctly? Or is it when you download your IP settings from your desktop that you don't get TCP/IP?

Either way this should help if you don't have the TCP/IP protocol installed. I hope

Good luck.
    Dream as if you are going to live forever, live as if you were going to die today.

A lot of times, the OS will be installed with what you need already.

When you install TCP/IP for whatever adapter... ethernet or dialup... the files are most likely already on the PC.

The OS will automatically default to "insert Win98 in cdrom" or something of that nature.
    That would be too easy... for someone who has the disk...

Point the OS to the following locations... It has worked for me numberous times.

c:\windows
    c:\windows\system
    c:\windows\system32

all of the files should be in those locations. If not, it will ask you for the location of the next file. Simply use the find feature in explorer and search your HD for the file it wants and point it in that direction. If I remember correctly, you will have to change locations just a few times.

Some manufacturers leave the cabs on the system too. They could be in a few locations...
    Sometimes they are in

c:\cabs
    c:\drivers\cabs
    c:\windows\cabs

You can also use the search feature for the cabs directory.