C/C++ compiler question

Thread: C/C++ compiler question

C/C++ compiler question

Would the same C/C++ compile and run on every compiler??? I mean code NOT meant for creating a GUI, because it is obvious that a code for Borland C 5.02 would not work in GTk+.
    I just mean basic C/C++ functions.
    I wrote a small program in Turbo C which contained the function gotoxy(); I tried the code in MS visual C++, and it didn't interpret gotoxy(); clrscr(); and others, why is this happening I thought C would be C everywhere???

I use M$ visual studios c++, and though I don't have the answer to your question I know I had to relearn the c++ I gleaned from generic tutorials.
    the only way to fix it is to flush it all away-tool

It's a gas!
    I may be wrong but i think different compilers use different libraries ie clrscr()

But as i said, im no programmer so i may be wrong!

Antionline Herpetologist
    The reason for this is simple. Standard C/C++ will compile almost anywhere, even accross platforms. However, Borland C++ uses a header called <conio.h> for special functions like gotoxy(x,y) and clrscr(). Unless you have the libraries to compile that code, the code is obviously not going to compile. So, the reason your code didn't compile on MS VC++ is the same reason that GTK+ code won't compile on Borland C++.
    Buy the Snakes of India book, support research and education (sorry the website has been discontinued)
    My blog: http://biology000.blogspot.com

i usually use gcc compilers, and i find that if i have to compile the same code using visual c++ i get problems, especially in the math and random libraries.
    U suk at teh intuhnet1!!1!1one

I've posted this before...
    C++ portability rules.

1. Don't use C++ templates.
    2. (*) Don't use static constructors.
    3. Don't use exceptions.
    4. Don't use Run-time Type Information.
    5. Don't use namespace facility.
    6. main() must be in a C++ file.