Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Math

Math

Here is the deal. I am a computer science student and I have this huge craving to learn. I spend my entire day, everyday teaching myself programming stuff and networking stuff and what have you. I have recently also begun a new craving, a craving to know math, really really well. The problem is, math in the education system is very poor, and I find myself struggling because of this. I know AO is more computer related, but I have seen some wonderful demonstrations of math knowledge here.

My question is, are there any good online resources for teaching myself advanced math. Or does anybody have any advice or insight into the ways of becoming great at it. I have searched the site for tutorials but did not succeede in finding anything.

I know that by learning math my programming skills will greatly increase, any help pointing me in the right direction would be wonderful. If you don't have any advice, then thank you for taking the time to read my post. Have a good evening.
    im not living, im just killing time.
    Go to KidAdmin.com

I wanted to put my two cents worth in - I have a degree in the Secondary Education of Mathematics from Penn State University. Depending on your general knowledge of mathematics already, I have to say - to learn what you would call "Advanced" mathematics - meaning number theorey - non-euclidean Geometry, Game Theorey and so on - you would really need to invest some money and take some classes. The books that are out there on these topics assume that you know too much already. In all "Advanced" mathematics I took classes in, we had 2-3 weeks of learning the basics of a subject before we even got to where teh books began because of their assumptions of basic knowledge on the subject. To my knowledge, the literature on online availability of some of the Advanced Mathemtatics is one area that is really lacking.