Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Possible stupid question

Possible stupid question

As you can see I am a newbie so I give you one of many stupid questions to come. What exactly is this *nix thing that I keep seeing? I searched the forums but could find no definitive answer. I also Googled it but nothing. I'm thinking it is an AO thing. From what I can tell it refers to Unix but why refer to it this way?
    \"I\'d like to think the best of me is still hiding up my sleeve.\" -John Mayer

er0k
    *nix is just another way of writing unix, which is another operating system, like windows. Windows is an operating system, unix is a better operating system. We put *nix cause its cooler.

I've always understood it to mean either a unix derivative (of which there are many) or any of the various flavors of linux. The asterisk is indicative of a variable, like x in algebra.

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    The real reason for using *nix was because AT&T copyrighted and used to own the name Unix. So to avoid any possibilities of paying into copyright and to seperate other *nixes from that of AT&T, the metacharacter * was added. As I was searching for more historical knowledge I found this. Open Group bought the term Unix:

Originally, the term ``Unix'' meant a particular product developed by AT&T. Today, the Open Group owns the Unix trademark, and it defines Unix as ``the worldwide Single UNIX Specification''.

For a bit of the history of Unix check here.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Thanks for all the great replies. I am in the process of adding linux to my computer as a second OS which has Win2K for an OS now. It seems like a daunting task for a newbie so I hope you all don't mind if I periodically ask my dumb questions. I can see there is a lot of knowledge to benefit from here at AO and I thank you all in advance.