Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Google technology explained

Google technology explained

as a computer scientist i have often pondered how Google is the best search engine in existence and it always gives the most relevant results to any query. well finally i know the answer. they use pigeons.

http://www.google.com/technology/pigeonrank.html

Someone has way too much time on their hands.
    LOL
    Remember -
    The ark was built by amatures...
    The Titanic was built by professionals.

() \/V |\| 3 |) |3\/ |\|3G47|\/3

Smile

That is one of the funniest things I've seen in a long time. Nice find!

Aren't pigeons really stupid? How do they do this?

While no pigeon has actually been confirmed for a seat on the Supreme Court, pigeons are surprisingly adept at making instant judgments when confronted with difficult choices. This makes them suitable for any job requiring accurate and authoritative decision-making under pressure. Among the positions in which pigeons have served capably are replacement air traffic controllers, butterfly ballot counters and pro football referees during the "no-instant replay" years.
    .....too funny!

No wonder I can't find a job!!! I'm the wrong species.....::: curses pigeons :::

Go Finland!
    Deviant Gallery

That's a great technology and it doesn't cost much, only some seeds

Good job.

someone please explain why it's in www.google.com ?
    Is it a joke?
    ???
    easter egg?

i believe it was an April Fool's day gag. there was a link to that page on the google homepage on April 1, 2002.

RFC1149

Looks like a variation of this old joke. http://www.rfc1149.net/original
    Why take the stairs when you can just fall?

I liked this part...

Integrity