Newbie Question Beware: What is an IDS?
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Newbie Question Beware: What is an IDS?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    137

    Newbie Question Beware: What is an IDS?

    I did a quick search for it. It sounds really familar. What does it stand for, and how does it affect me?

    Cheers
    kOc

  2. #2
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    King of Cavemen,

    take a look at this one : It'll be helpful.

    http://www.networkintrusion.co.uk/index.htm

    Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  3. #3
    Shadow Programmer mmelby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    291
    Intrusion Detection System

    There are both hardware and software flavors available.

    There are TONS of links on google.
    Work... Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    137
    Lol doh! Thanks for the link and info Shrekkie.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    25
    do ids include firewalls? and also what hardware systems are ids?
    i didn\'t do it, nobody saw me do it, you can\'t prove anything!
    -bart simpson

  6. #6
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    741
    while it is possible to get firewalls that include IDS systems I dont recommend that you do it.

    You should run seperate computers for firewall and IDS. It could be a good Idea to run a minimal IDS within the firewall but running a full blown Firewall/IDS will open up more vulnerabilities.

    Heres why... IDS requires a alot of processor time and memory. A firewall can receive a lot of data in a short amount of time. Now if you have to wait for the firewall to forward all TCP and UDP packets to the IDS for packet analysis then you leave yourself open to DoS attacks. This is because, depending on the speed and RAM in the computer, you will be putting a huge strain and wait time on the firewall if it has to do both things at once. Hope this helps

    --Spy
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •