Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Taking my first step in the Job world

Taking my first step in the Job world

Hey People!

Well, I have been studing networking for a really, really, really long time now. got cisco certed when i was 16, now expired, couldnt find a job... too young, no experiance. but for some reason i just got offered a job as a network admin for the city. I mean experiance is priceless so im going to take it.

but as much as i studied, and learned i cant come up with the slightist thing do to first when i enter that job. so I ask those whom are network admins for there company to give me some advice....

how should i start a normal work day?
    what things should i keep in mind?
    what do they (emplyoer) want to see?

or any other tips would be helpful. thank you!
    Thnx, i just need a little adivce!
    Im Chris Bartholomew - 18 Years old

TSeNg
    questions? Cxbartholomew@yahoo.com

Chris

The most important thing is learning from your peers. Don't dive straight in with recommendations on ripping out the whole infrastructure to put in the 'perfect solution'.
    The world of books and exams is not the same as the real world! In a perfect world everyone would have the latest hardware, fat pipes to the net etc.. unfortunately unless you are very lucky most of the equipment you deal with on a day to day basis will be old and abused.
    Ask questions, there is no such thing as a stupid question, show initiative where you can, but don't be tempted to implement something without checking with your sysadm.
    Keep on studying if you want to progress, by that I mean learn subjects that are interesting to you and helpful in your job. Don't be tempted to download cheat sheets to pass exams, you will soon be found out!
    I wish you every success in your chosen career.

Crookie
    dnkcrook@hotmail.com

yo mate ..

any way , congratulation for your job . so it is the first time you work for real eh ?