win98 logo question
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: win98 logo question

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    35

    win98 logo question

    Hello guys,
    I need some help, can anyone tell me how can i change my logo screen, which is appear at starting time of win98, and
    when the win98 shutting, under which the message is
    "shutting down windows" similar.

    I will be very thankful.


    PUNJABIAN263

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    174
    Mike Reilly
    bluebeard96@yahoo.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    18
    There are three files which makeup the startup and shutdown screens, they are:

    • LOGO.SYS - The startup screen, usually located in your C:\ directory
    • LOGOW.SYS - The 'Please wait...' screen, usually located in your c:\windows directory.
    • LOGOS.SYS - The 'It's now safe to turn off your computer.' screen, usually located in your c:\windows directory.


    These files are standard 256 color Windows bitmap files with dimensions of 320(w) x 400(h). You can use basically any image editing program to change them (as long as it supports BMP files).


    This information was taken from the following web site:

    "Change the Startup and Shutdown Screens (Windows 95/98/Me)" available at:
    http://www.winguides.com/registry/display.php/254/

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    26
    does anyone know how to do this in xp?
    Squirrels have bushy tails
    I cut them off, then I laugh.
    That squirrel has no tail.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    33
    punjabian263 just go to http://www.happyhacker.org/gtmhh/gtmhh2.shtml and look in the hacking windows tutorial it will give you step by step instuctions.

    oh ya, and fer anyone else that wants to learn a thing or two (might know it all but hey) folow the link too, there are lots of totorials on windose and unix/lynix.
    I AM THE INTERNET
    I AM tHeHeTeRiC

  6. #6
    Shadow Programmer mmelby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Ft. Myers, FL
    Posts
    291
    There was a similar thread yesterday....

    http://www.antionline.com/showthread...&postid=608111
    Work... Some days it's just not worth chewing through the restraints...

  7. #7
    Kwiep
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    924
    bootieofdarknes

    To do it for windows xp, or at least the way I did it, you have to edit the kernel. You could use tools like reshacker to extract and change the bitmaps in executables and libraries. I don't know the file name and stuff from my head, I'm not on my windows xp box. Maybe google can clear up the rest of this.
    Double Dutch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •