Question on virus W32.HLLP.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question on virus W32.HLLP.

Question

Sorry guys, this probably isn't supposed to go here but I just signed up for this site today. I was wondering if there was any info on the virus W32.HLLP.Handy. I've gotten it twice so far but both times my virus scan caught it. I am also having another problem. My computer restarts itself frequently. It only happens when I'm using aol instant messanger so I think it has to do with that. I will be sitting there and as soon as I get up to move it restarts. I'm not very good with computers but my friend is and he checked something called MSCONFIG and cheked to see if anything strange was there and there wasn't. I do have a couple of friends who are good with computers and I know they can make my computer restart but I'm really not sure if there doing it or not. Please help me.

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Hrmm.. A couple of things come to mind. First, you might want to visit MooSoft and download the Cleaner. It sounds like you might have a trojan. Also, make sure your antivirus is up-to-date and runs when the machine boots.

Second, make sure you have the latest version of AIM. That said, go through the AIM preference and disable any default uploads or what-have-you. Ideally, it would be better if you didn't use AIM as it is problematic (IMHO).
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Fleet, check this link out from McAfee's Virus Information Library: http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/v_99881.htm

That should get you some more information about the virus itself. Also, a simple search on Google should give you plenty of information to read about..