Firewall - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Firewall

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    76
    It's because your computer doesn't have a valid IP address at the time these entries appeared in your firewall logs. I take it you're on dial-up or use PPPoE to connect to the internet. These entries are your computer obtaining an IP address, and I bet there's a nice conversation between your PC and your DHCP server on ports 67 and 68 going on. Have a look and see.

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    76
    It's because your computer doesn't have a valid IP address at the time these entries appeared in your firewall logs. I take it you're on dial-up or use PPPoE to connect to the internet. These entries are your computer obtaining an IP address, and I bet there's a nice conversation between your PC and your DHCP server on ports 67 and 68 going on. Have a look and see.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    135

    Smile

    Thanks for the reply. I can't seem to find any port information, as the information in my post was under the intrusion detection in NIS and from about 3 weeks ago. (the connections log doesn't go back that far)

    I also don't know what a PPPoE is, (sorry) but I can tell you I'm on cable.

    Could it be any apps I was running (P2P, IRC, etc.?)

    I know this isn't really a big deal but like I said, I'm just trying to learn.

    All replies are appreciated.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    135

    Smile

    Thanks for the reply. I can't seem to find any port information, as the information in my post was under the intrusion detection in NIS and from about 3 weeks ago. (the connections log doesn't go back that far)

    I also don't know what a PPPoE is, (sorry) but I can tell you I'm on cable.

    Could it be any apps I was running (P2P, IRC, etc.?)

    I know this isn't really a big deal but like I said, I'm just trying to learn.

    All replies are appreciated.

  5. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    70
    Thanx a lot ... this information will help me out a lot... if you want you can send me any thing else that you think is helpful.



    Chris

  6. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    70
    Thanx a lot ... this information will help me out a lot... if you want you can send me any thing else that you think is helpful.



    Chris

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    PPPoE stands for Point to Point Protocol over Ethernet.

    My guess would be that a program that acceses info from the net was trying during those times but wasn't able to. That would be my guess, but I'm not and expert on this stuff so if anybody else knows then correct me if I'm wrong.
    =

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    PPPoE stands for Point to Point Protocol over Ethernet.

    My guess would be that a program that acceses info from the net was trying during those times but wasn't able to. That would be my guess, but I'm not and expert on this stuff so if anybody else knows then correct me if I'm wrong.
    =

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides