How to configure ISA server to prevent W32.Slammer
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to configure ISA server to prevent W32.Slammer

  1. #1
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883

    How to configure ISA server to prevent W32.Slammer

    I have a freshly installed ISA server in my lab so I decided to test out this Microsoft doc regarding proper configuration of ISA server to prevent W32.Slammer from slipping into your network. The document has quite a few requirements regarding your ISA config but if you meet them, I can verify that this does work.

    ENVIRONMENT (all machines freshly installed - no modifications)
    ===============
    ISA server running on W2K Pro SP3, all hotfixes and patches
    W2K Pro SP3, all hotfixes and patches running MSDE 2000 SP1
    Windows W2K server running MSSQL 2000 SP1, Norton 8.0 Corp Addition - latest DAT.
    2 linksys hubs

    TEST
    ===============
    Setup ISA server according to the link below
    infected the MSDE client with W32.slammer
    Monitored both sides of the network with ethereal 0.9.11
    No UDP traffic associated with W32.slammer ever made it past the ISA server. No infection occured on the MSSQL server.

    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tre...sa/isaslam.asp

    Hope this helps any ISA users.

  2. #2
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,883

    How to configure ISA server to prevent W32.Slammer

    I have a freshly installed ISA server in my lab so I decided to test out this Microsoft doc regarding proper configuration of ISA server to prevent W32.Slammer from slipping into your network. The document has quite a few requirements regarding your ISA config but if you meet them, I can verify that this does work.

    ENVIRONMENT (all machines freshly installed - no modifications)
    ===============
    ISA server running on W2K Pro SP3, all hotfixes and patches
    W2K Pro SP3, all hotfixes and patches running MSDE 2000 SP1
    Windows W2K server running MSSQL 2000 SP1, Norton 8.0 Corp Addition - latest DAT.
    2 linksys hubs

    TEST
    ===============
    Setup ISA server according to the link below
    infected the MSDE client with W32.slammer
    Monitored both sides of the network with ethereal 0.9.11
    No UDP traffic associated with W32.slammer ever made it past the ISA server. No infection occured on the MSSQL server.

    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/tre...sa/isaslam.asp

    Hope this helps any ISA users.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    211
    In this type of configuration, the ISA Server-based computer is configured with two network adapters (one on the internal network and one connected to the broadband modem) and a dial-up network adapter (the PPPoE adapter).
    visit http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=296534

    good luck

    When I lay me down to sleep, Pray the LORD my soul to keep.
    If I die before i wake, Pray the LORD my soul to take.

    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=389

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    211
    In this type of configuration, the ISA Server-based computer is configured with two network adapters (one on the internal network and one connected to the broadband modem) and a dial-up network adapter (the PPPoE adapter).
    visit http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=296534

    good luck

    When I lay me down to sleep, Pray the LORD my soul to keep.
    If I die before i wake, Pray the LORD my soul to take.

    http://www.AntiOnline.com/sig.php?imageid=389

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    17

    Good

    Usefully for admin!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •