WinXP Internet Explorer stops responding...
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: WinXP Internet Explorer stops responding...

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    32

    Question WinXP Internet Explorer stops responding...

    I just bought a newly Pentium IV 2.0 Ghz an have a Windows XP Installed on it running Internet Explorer 6.0, and ten hours free internet access, but the problem come when I go to a web site that contains a Flash file my Internet Explorer stops responding or gives me an error and shuts down. I have Flash Player 5.0 installed and I have tried reinstalling it to fix the problem but that didn't work. Is there a way to fix this problem? Any advice, suggestion, and support will be appriated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    99
    Go to Linux and use Mozilla, Phoenix, Konqueror, Galeon, et al... Just kidding. I have a feeling the problem lies with XP and flash. I'm not on XP, but I have heard of stories of IE stopping from working, Hardware disappearing from Device Mangler, and so on when using XP. You might want to go to http://www.microsoft.com/technet and do a quick search for XP and Flash. You could also uninstall Flash, re-install IE, and the re-install flash to see if that fixes it. If it doesn't the go to http://www.mozilla.org and download the latest version and use that. Mozilla rocks and is faster and smaller than IE......I've converted quiet a few persons so far to the MOZ.....Mozilla support java, flash, and just about everything you need.....give it a whirl....who knows....

  3. #3
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    I think they are up to flash 6.0

    Try to install that one.

    I had that problem on a 2k machine, and that fixed my problem.

    Just visit macromedia's website and DL Flash 6.0.
    http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/...nguage=English

    You might want to get shockwave and the others when you are there too.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    117
    Is this happening with all flash animations, or just the one on that site?

    If you download a .swf-file (.swf= flash animation) and try to open it with the standalone flash player, what happens?

    Try some stuff, and report it, with the info given its kind of hard to pinpoint you problem.

    Btw, I'll take a stable nightly build of phoenix w/ tab extension over mozilla all day and any day
    .sig - There never was a .sig?
    I own a Schneider EuroPC with MS-Dos 3.3 and it works.

  5. #5
    Senior Member deftones12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    cali forn i a
    Posts
    333
    Hey, what version of WinXP do u have??? Depending on ur connection u wanna download a service pack and get the latest updates cuz i know when WinXP first came out it had a few bugs with IE. I'm pretty sure if u get the latest service pack or update that might fix the problem.

  6. #6
    Old Fart
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,658
    Make sure your version of IE is up to date at the windows update page.
    If updating doesn't help......

    start>control panel>add/remove programs
    Find Microsoft Internet Explorer on the list and highlight it.
    click add/remove button in highlighted area.
    a window will appear that gives you the option to repair IE.
    choose repair and restart your computer when the repair is complete.


    Good Luck
    Al
    It isn't paranoia when you KNOW they're out to get you...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    79
    I moved your thread to here from the Newbie Security Questions forum since it is not a security question.
    - Runner -

  8. #8
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,325
    start>control panel>add/remove programs
    Find Microsoft Internet Explorer on the list and highlight it.
    click add/remove button in highlighted area.
    a window will appear that gives you the option to repair IE.
    choose repair and restart your computer when the repair is complete.
    I have never found it in there... how do you get it to show up?
    I do have an option to choose my default web browser and to hide IE in add/remove windows components... but thats about it. I have never seen an option to repair IE in any verions of windows that I have used...

    Thanks


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •