How to recompile linux kernel

Thread: How to recompile linux kernel

Question How to recompile linux kernel

How to recompile the kernel in Redhat linux 8.0
    I just added a module which supports ntfs file system
    but now need to recomplile the kernel

This really doesnt answer your question but I think this site might have what your looking for. You can install ntfs support from an rpm. Complete with easy to follow instructions. As a linux newbie I really appreciate easy to follw instructions

http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/info/redhat.html

good luck.
    I dont read these.

the short way..

first become a superuser (or login as root)

su
    enter password

go to the kernel source folder (usualy /usr/src/linux)

cd /usr/src/linux

then configure the kernel

make menuconfig

after selecting the stuff you want and deselecting the stuff you don't need, exit..
    it ususaly tells you that the next step is to "make dep"

make dep

next step is to make the modules (parst of the kernel that are loaded in when needed)

make modules

then we will install them modules

make modules_install

then we have a couple of options.. IMHO the easiest is to let the kernel do the installing itself..
    it will then install the kernel in /vmlinuz (check your /etc/lilo.conf or some other bootmanager.. not all bootmanagers are set to that location automaticly)

make install

then you can reboot..

if you have strange (non GPL) modules (like nvidia drivers) you'll need to recompile that stuff..
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

the_JinX : never tried it that way, but this works for me
    I'll assume you are using RedHat's kernel source.

you should be in the kernel source directory ( something like directory /usr/src/linux-2.4.16.) and su

a) enter the command make mrproper ( R.H. 8 source seems to need this )