Booting into console mandrake 9.0?
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Booting into console mandrake 9.0?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    102

    Question Booting into console mandrake 9.0?

    I just installed mandrake 9.0 on this really crappy computer. The Xserver configuration is all messed up and it keeps booting into kde 3. The graphic card is so bad everything is showing up red and very glitchy. I need to get a new graphic card it looks like but I wanna mess with the box and get some stuff ready but I can't find away to boot into the shell. Anyone know how I can do this in mandrake 9.0?
    Good Grief

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    18
    I would try the following:

    1. Use CTRL+ALT+F2 to bring up tty2
    2. Log in to tty2 as 'root'
    3. Edit the file '/etc/inittab' using your editor of choice
    4. Find the line id:5:initdefault: and change it to id:3:initdefault:
    5. Save the file and exit
    6. Restart using the following command '/sbin/shutdown -r now'

    When the computer restarts, you will boot to runlevel 3 (Full multiuser mode), instead of runlevel 5 (X11/XWindows).

  3. #3
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Which boot loader do you have installed?

    I believe both lilo and grub can allow you to boot into a run level. e.g. if your Mandrake partition is called Linux it'd be something like linux=/bin/bash or linux single or linux 1 or linux init 1 (You could alternatively change it to linux 3 or linux init 3 to go to those run levels).
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    102
    sweeet thanks for your fast reply Stormcr0w. I'm now in happy mode
    Good Grief

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •