Many Questions....

Thread: Many Questions....

The Recidivist

Question Many Questions....

Okay, so here's the deal. Right now I am running M$ ME on a HP computer. I wanna put LInux on here but also keep everything I have. Way to much stuff to save then reload. Can I buy a new hardrive and install it, then put Red Hat on it and just able/disable the hardrives as I want to boot up on is there a better way? I wanna be able to access the info on the M$ drive while under Linux (mounting right?) this is my first attempt and *nix systems and need some help to make sure I don't mess anything up too bad (emphasis on too bad). I would really appreciate any help anyone could give me.

Hjack

Also how do I find out if there are any hardware problems with what I have? Also I have cable. Will I still be able to access that under a different OS? I know this is all way newbie but everyone starts somewhere right?

hjack
    "Where the tree of knowledge stands, there is always paradise": thus speak the oldest and the youngest serpents.
    - Friedrich Nietzsche

Um, yeah, installing a new hard drive is the easiest way to go IMO, you shouldn't have to change jumper settings on the drives each time you want to boot up though, just set the new drive as slave. Have windows already installed and then install linux on the added hard drive, use whatever boot manager your distro comes with and you should be all set.

For the cable, you should be able to use it with your linux OS. As for the hardware problems, do you mean problems with Linux?? For that you'll have to check your distro's website for compatible hardware against a list of the hardware in your comp.
    Every now and then, one of you won't annoy me.

After you move to the other OS, you will be able to mount your old hard drive.
    I have had problems with the linux ext2 FS reading FAT32 long names. I have only been able to get the short names.