Daemon question.

Thread: Daemon question.

Question Daemon question.

Well I am a newbie and I wanted to know exactly what daemon does and its capabilitys, also what you need to run it. I know I could find this on the internet or google but I thought you guys would explain it a lot better. Also are there any good links that i could find a lot more bout it?

[glowpurple]NooNoo\'s [/glowpurple]

Hey Hey

First off.. to give you the webopedia definition.

Pronounced DEE-mun or DAY-mun. A process that runs in the background and performs a specified operation at predefined times or in response to certain events. The term daemon is a UNIX term, though many other operating systems provide support for daemons, though they're sometimes called other names. Windows, for example, refers to daemons and System Agents and services.
    Typical daemon processes include print spoolers, e-mail handlers, and other programs that perform administrative tasks for the operating system. The term comes from Greek mythology, where daemons were guardian spirits.
    I guess it all depends on which OS you are more familiar with.. you'll hear webservers and ftp servers refered to as httpd and ftpd.... HTTP Daemon and FTP Daemon... for HTTP.. you've got Apache or IIS... basically any server is a daemon... for FTP you've got Wu-FTPd and Guild-FTPd

Basically anything that your computer runs in the background is a daemon, like webopedia says... The Messenger Service, that so many of us b*tch about, is a daemon... crond on nix systems is the Crontab Daemon.

I hope this helps clear things up for you.. if you have any further questions.. throw em up and I'll try my best to answer them.. if I can't.. i'm sure the more knowledgeable people will be able to.