Thread: Leeching internet through foreign network

Leeching internet through foreign network

what kind of network information do i need to leech internet access from a high school network with a laptop, i mean it works automaticly between mine and my friends networks but im sure the school security is slightly different .....
    _______> laptop to ethernet jack on network, no network activity at all...
    network uses novell does the laptop need novell? any info would be great

I have limited experience with novell but in the few novell networks I have seen novell was not need to get net access and was used for file sharing and printing. But if it turns out you do need it you can download the novell client from novells web site. You should be able to get all the information you need from the tcp/ip settings on a work station. If ip's are statically assigned just write them down, turn off the work station and place the same settings on your laptop. Just make sure the workstation is down or you'll get an ip conflict error or something to that extent. If there using DHCP set your laptop to automaticly get you ip information and away you go. Of course if the DHCP server hands out ip's based on a MAC address you might have to change it to that of the a work station.

Without knowing more details, it is difficult to say for sure, but one of three things could be the problem.

1. The port you are connecting to on the switch is either not activated or is not ethernet (perhaps Token Ring)
    2. The Novell Network is not using IP. Many older Novell networks used IPX and it may not have ever been converted.
    3. There are either network restrictions or your school does not have an Internet connection to/from that specific network.

Of course it could be one of many things, but I would say those 3 are probably most likely.

How old is the Novell system, they may be useing ipx/spx with Novells internet gateway services if they are running anything before 5.