home network question

Thread: home network question

home network question

Hi, I have linksys 4 port router, with ADSL, I have been using it for about 5 months with out any troubles, sharing my connection between a dell desktop and a dell laptop.
    My brother just bought a toshiba satellite, and I just canīt get it to connect to the Internet. It is running winxp pro with an intel ethernet card. In all my other boxes I just needed to configure my connection with "obtain ip automatically", so that the router acts as dhcp and assigns the ip. In the toshiba laptop, I put all the correct settings but it is not connected, it obtains a wierd ip address that doesn't correspond to those for my internal LAN ie: 192.168.1.xxxx It seems that the router isn't recognized, I am sure there's some problem with the toshiba cause both dells still work fine.
    What else can I try??? Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Are you sure the ethernet card is working properly? Try pinging localhost. If that works fine you might want to check if your winxp pro set up a firewall on your internet connection by default, I have seen that happen before. Just go to your local area connections, and go to the properties on your ethernet card, and check out the advanced tab and make sure firewall is unchecked.
    also you should check that your computer doesn't have the same hostname as one of the other computers on the network. Just open up "system" from the control pannel.

Other then that, just do your basic diagnostic check, do you have green lights on both the router and ethernet card? If not you might have the wrong cable type.

Hope that helps.