View Poll Results: do u agree with the new AP feature. (showing AP poster)

Voters
89. You may not vote on this poll
  • YES

60 67.42%
  • NO

29 32.58%

Thread: awk's -INTRO-

Cool awk's -INTRO-

If this was posted anywhere on this forum let me know cause I didn't see it anywhere when I search. So I will explore some of the uses of the powerful awk language. Yes, it's a language so may argue since it's can be used on the cmd-line within a Unix console. This tutorial assumes UR familiar with using Unix commands and editors.

Awk, is a pattern-scanning & processing language. Kewl Huh! It offers power user's a command-line tool to maniplate input. Correct me if I made a mistake, cause I'm no expert. Awk as I understood it is useful for doing interesting things with input. My first experience with Unix I didn't have anuff ram to run the gui. So I was forced to use the console until I built a new box. *"Awk first saw light of day with version 7 UNIX, around 1978."-O'Reilly "sed and awk" . Enough with the boring history for now let explore how we can use it's power.
    type at console prompt:
    Code:
    $ echo -e "AO MEMBERS make a kewl community">AOer's
              $ echo -e "AO MEMBERS are very helpful">>AOer's
              $ echo -e "AO best site on the Web">>AOer's
              $ awk '{ print "AO ADDICTS & SENIOR'S RULE"} AOer's
    output should look as follows:
    AO ADDICTS & SENIOR'S RULE

The above example as I said before awk reads input. It prints the "AO ADDICTS' & SENIOR'S RULE" for each line of input read from the file "AOer's".

Now to better understand awk as a programming language. It is helpful to write awk scripts
    this makes it second nature in using it since it is easy to learn Below is a description of awk's three procedures we can use which consists of the 3 routines: BEGIN, main loop, END.

1st routine-- BEGIN
    #this is done before input is read, this can be useful for all sorts of things
    # use your imagination.