Installing WinModem on Linux RH8 or 9
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Installing WinModem on Linux RH8 or 9

Installing WinModem on Linux RH8 or 9

hey guys,

i have a choice out of red hat 8 and 9. i prefer 8 personally.

anyways, i have a netcomm internal 56k modem, and im sure its a winmodem, my question is how can i install a winmodem through redhat 8 (preferably) so that i can access the net etc.

i know there are some proggies and stuff but basically im a linux newbie and need detailed instructions to change major stuff, so any help would greatly be appreciated and i will get back t you guys on how it goes if i get some reliable help.

thanks
    - Trying is the first step towards failure. the moral is never try.
    - It\'s like something out of that twilighty show about that zone.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

You can look for a driver to your modem at www.linmodems.org and see if u find ther your modem.

Which one?

If you can let us know the make of the modem, we can help you.
    I assume you:
    1. Have you already found out that it is incompatible with Linux?
    2. want to know how to make it work on linux
    --------------------
    100% Microsoft free

My modem is a lucent modem. i dont have time to get the chipset number right now but when i do i will post it. hopefully lucent will be all the knowledge you need for now to get me started,

thanks again.

o, and one more problem. this is always happened. i have an onboard via technologies sound card. and i have installed a soundblaster live. niether of the two sound cards work in linux, even when the onboard is turned off in the bios. is there a way i can get the soundblaster to work??

but my #1 concern right now is the modem.
    ----Homer J Simpson----

This link looks like it going to be your best bet with the info you have provided. It deals strictly with Lucent winmodems and Linux.

Here is a link to some Lucent winmodem linux drivers.

http://walbran.org/sean/linux/linmodem-howto-all.html