Snort IDS Help

Thread: Snort IDS Help

Snort IDS Help

Hey, I'm kinda new to linux I was using M$ Windows for a few years, (learned about linux from shell-accounts)
    and now that I have my own linux box I need to learn how to do the security part. I did some research learned about SUID programs and so on.. Did some permission checking, set up iptables, blah blah.. anyways, Now I was told all I need is to set up some kind of IDS. So I downloaded Snort Version 1.9.1, I read the man pages and help but I still cant figure out how to really use it like I want to. I want to run it as a daemon so I used 'snort -D' but it didn't do anything, I checked 'ps' and snort was not listed. Can someone kinda tell me how it works, I would like to make it run in the background and choose where the log files go. Thanks..
    WARNING: Your computer might be infected with a well known virus called \'windows\'.

Just Another Geek
    Did you edit snort.conf? In snort.conf you define what and how things get logged.
    Did you check /var/log/messages for any error messages? Remember that snort needs to be started as root because it wants to put the networkcard in promiscuous mode.

Try running it like:

/usr/local/bin/snort -b -c /usr/local/etc/snort.conf -u snort -g snort -l /home/snort -D

This is assuming snort is in /usr/local/bin and snort.conf is in /usr/local/etc. It will start logging in /home/snort and run as user/group snort.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

No, I didn't edit snort.conf, but that seems to be what I was looking for, thanks . I got one more question.. How about using snort as a packet sniffer so I can see all incomming/outgoing packets. Think someone can give me a grip on that?
    WARNING: Your computer might be infected with a well known virus called \'windows\'.

Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Snort only looks for packets based on the rules that are defined in the snort.conf.