Weird Networking issue
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Weird Networking issue

  1. #1
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324

    Weird Networking issue

    Ok. I've been pondering this for a few days and I've come up with a road block since I've never seen this before. I was helping a friend out with some wiring. It's a basic setup where the house was wired and there's a central cubboard with the switch, router and "patch panel". The wires for the patch panel were about 8 feet long (left by the original contractor that wired the place). So I went to replace the wires with shorter ones (about 1.5 - 2 feet). The wires worked good -- except for one thing. I could ping everything but the print server. I could go on any machine and go surfing. I could ping other machines in the network without problem. But couldn't connect to the print server.

    I return the original wires and it works fine.

    Ideas? I have this feeling it's simple but it's just not coming to me this morning and I haven't seen this before.

    The router is a GNET Internet Gateway from GVC. The switch I'm not sure (didn't really look at it) but I suspect it is also the same (simple 8 port switch).
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  2. #2
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    Maybe the wire to that particular device is bad.
    Have you tried replacing them one at a time to see
    when the trouble begins?
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  3. #3
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Yup. Wasn't until all the cables were replaced did it work fine.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  4. #4
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    Do you mean that any combination that includes one or more
    of the short cables in any position will cause the problem?
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  5. #5
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    had the same prob once.... dunno if it's yours though.

    Had to wire a lil network from a friend, and set up all the wiring.
    I put on some new RJ45 - connectors (pairs 1,2 - 3,6) and my Lantester gave them ok.
    We could ping to but not make some decent connection or networking.... took another type of cable and .... oopps it works.

    I took that type of cable to our test lab and noticed it had too much noise on it...
    With me it seemed the connector type (RJ45) didn't cut enough in the cable cores cause the cable seemed to stiff.
    Another brand of RJ45 did the job in the lab....

    So thought I 'd share this... dunno if it helps....
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  6. #6
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    rcgreen, yup.

    Shrekkie, interesting. You may have my answer. Now to see if I can find some patches that are short enough.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides