telnet
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: telnet

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2

    telnet

    sorry, but im newbie when it comes to messing with computers...... but i have a question?

    when i open my telnetim useing windows xp prof. and the microsoft telnet client)

    i type "o" to open a port...................but what ever i type in, it said: could not open connection to the host on port "": connection failed

    so my question is this: what am i doing wrong, i have read some stuff on here about telnet, but cant seem to find a answer to my question.

    thanks for your time

  2. #2
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    If all you do is Telnet and then "o" (letter o not zero) then one issue is the problem of missing an address. You should be able to use telnet like this: telnet <ip address> <port number>. So if I wanted to connect to my sendmail server locally to see if it's running, I'd type telnet localhost 25.

    Hope this helps.

    Thread moved from Antionline: How do I? to General Chit Chat. Antionline: How do I? is for questions about Antionline itself like moving threads, deleting threads, etc.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  3. #3
    Senior Member tampabay420's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    953
    hey the client needs a server...
    you can't just open a port...

    the syntax should be...

    "telnet server.com port" an example ->

    "telnet www.msn.com 21"

    Telnet is a protocol that allows you to connect to remote computers (called hosts) over a TCP/IP network (such as the Internet). You use software called a telnet client on your computer to make a connection; there is a telnet server on the remote host, which the telnet client negotiates with to establish a connection. Once connected, the client becomes a virtual terminal, and allows you to communicate with the host computer from your computer. In most cases, you'll be asked to log into the remote system. This usually requires an account on that system. Occasionally you can log in as guest or public without having an account.
    yeah, I\'m gonna need that by friday...

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    2

    thanks

    im stupid thanks!

  5. #5
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Not stupid. Just learning.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    352

    side note about telnet and telnet style programs...

    if youre using telnet for anything you want to keep secure such as your user / pass to the site youre connecting to, dont use telnet at all, if the site / server youre connecting to uses SSH, use it instead

    http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/

    you can get more info about it here, bsaically the concern about telnet is that it transfers everything in plain text without any exncryption for anything including user / passes

    these putty tools actually encrypt and compress the data before sending it therefore making it more secure and a bit quicker for you, plus with this program you can set up what port to connect to because it provides a graphical interface for you

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    13
    DON'T LISTEN TO THEM TRY THIS, IT WILL WORK ON XP
    UNLIKE THERE IDEAS WITCH MAYBE GOOD, BUT THEY DO NOT WORK ON TELNET FOR XP
    (I AM NOT CRITICING ANYONE IT'S JUST I KNOW A HELL OF A LOT WHEN IT COME S TO TELNET)
    SO READ ON AND MAYBE MSMITTENS WILL LEARN SOMETHING........-----------
    LOL NAH YOUR KOOL MSMITTENS NOTHING AGAINST YOU INFACT I HAVE LEARNT ALOTT FROM YOUR POSTS.
    CHEERS

    FTP in web sites:


    1)Open up telnet and type ftp.urlhere.com 21 It should ask for a user name and password.
    Put them in. If all goes well, something like the following should pop up:


    220-Welcome to XXXXX Web Hosting FTP server.
    220-Need help? Get all details at:
    220-http://XXXXXX.com
    220-
    220-No anonymous logins accepted.
    220 XXXXX
    user XXXXXX
    331-Enter your Yahoo! member password
    331
    pass XXXXXX
    230-You are using 57.8% of your subscribed disk space
    230 You have 31.631 MB of space available
    help
    214-The following commands are recognized (* =>'s unimplemented).
    USER QUIT MODE REST CWD STAT RMD XCUP
    PASS PORT RETR RNFR XCWD HELP XRMD STOU
    ACCT* PASV STOR RNTO LIST NOOP PWD SIZE
    SMNT* TYPE APPE ABOR NLST MKD XPWD MDTM
    REIN* STRU ALLO DELE SYST XMKD CDUP
    214 Direct comments to XXXXXX.com
    help CDUP
    214 Syntax: CDUP (change to parent directory)
    help ACCT
    214 ACCT \t(specify account); unimplemented
    help REIN
    214 REIN \t(reinitialize server state); unimplemented

    Everythign in bold is what I typed. Remember when you log in, type "user xxxx" not just your
    user name, same for the password and everything else.

    For computer (Pc must have server running, I am using the BPFTP Server that you can downlaod
    at tutorials section):

    If tou enter in the IP and port correctly, this should pop up:

    220 BulletProof FTP Server ready ...

    When you login, it will look like this:

    220 BulletProof FTP Server ready ...
    USER XXXXXX
    331 Password required for XXXXXX.
    PASS XXXXXX
    530 Can't login : invalid home directory ! < Note-- Change "Home IP" to their IP in the BPFTP "Setup
    USER XXXXXX User Accounts" section of th BPFTP Server
    331 Password required for XXXXXX.
    PASS XXXXXX
    230 User XXXXXX logged in.

    The < Note-- Is what I put to tell you what you should do if you get that error. That won't
    pop up in the telnet window or command prompt.
    LIFE\'S A BITCH
    THEN DEBIAN WAS INVENTED

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,302
    Ok can we please chill with all the Caps first,

    Second, don't reply to old threads.

    Third. Do you think that maybe you could of just copied and pasted that once.

    Ok I am not acting like an ass, I clearly have to say that, do you have any idea what you are talking about?

    If so ok. But on this one it seems like you copied something that you saw somewhere.

    Jizz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •