Can i run a FTP server behind a router with a dynamic ip?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Can i run a FTP server behind a router with a dynamic ip?

  1. #1

    Can i run a FTP server behind a router with a dynamic ip?

    I just wonder can i run a FTP server behind a router with a dynamic ip?First of all,i know i need a DNS service to make my dynamic ip to be static with a domain name,but the DNS service will only see my router ip instead of my real ip.How am i going to make the DNS client to see my ip instead of the router?Thank.

  2. #2
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    What kind of router?

    If it is a linksys/netgear cable/dsl type read the docs. It will tell you how to forward the port to the internal address.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    central il
    Posts
    1,779
    Not knowing your network I would guess that port forwarding is your best bet. An alternitive would be to setup a DMZ that responded as your external IP..that box would not be protected by the firewall though and there fore a lot more vulnerable.

  4. #4
    I using ASANTE router FR3004.

    Homepage
    http://www.asante.com/products/route...004/index.html

    I just wonder is it possible to do that cos i never tried that on a router running a FTP server.Beside that,when my friend login to my FTP server,will they be see my IP for router ip?

  5. #5
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    If you've got a router on 24/7 he will hold the ip, no matter the lease of your isp (have it at home too).
    Get a free dns-name here : http://www.no-ip.com/, couple the ip-adress you have now on that *DNS*.
    (you can do this on the site)

    Then configure your router so he forwards external port 21 to internal port 21 of the box you want it to come on.

    You should be up and running in notime.....
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  6. #6
    Thank guys,for your quick response.Anyway,i still perfer using this free DNS service http://www.dynu.com.Thank for all your information.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    central il
    Posts
    1,779
    The ASANTE should d oport forwarding and thats your best bet. Definatly go with dynamic DNS. A buddy of mine got a static name for his cable modem, every time power would go out he would lose his ipaddress so he would have to update his domain info.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    452
    Try enabling port forwarding in your router. Simply forward incomming traffic destined for port 21 on your router, to your computer's ip.


    PuRe
    Like this post? Visit PuRe\'s Information Technology Community. We\'ve also got some kick ass Technology Forums. Shop for books and dvds on LiveWebShop.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    382
    wacky_sung wrote:
    I just wonder is it possible to do that cos i never tried that on a router running a FTP server
    What do u mean by cos,?

    Classes of Services (QoS, CAR, DiffServ, ...)?
    If that the case I don't see the point with a FTP server. QoS is goal is to give priority to competing flows ...
    [shadow] SHARING KNOWLEDGE[/shadow]

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    76
    You need to forward ports 20 and 21 for an FTP server. If you only forward port 21, you'll only be able to perform passive transfers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •