Multiple software firewalls

Thread: Multiple software firewalls

Dead Man Walking

Multiple software firewalls

Okay I am still fairly new to security so i have question to ask. I have a windows xp box on cable. I have bothe zone alarm pro and nortons personal firewall. Sometimes norton will pop up alerts and othe times it will be zone alarm pro. My question is are the two programs running as two layers. I mean does the trafic have to go through one before it hits the other?
    Does it actualy do me any good to have 2 firewall programs running? I have heard running a firewall will slow down your connection but even with two running this comp still fly's through downloads and stuff so it doesnt seem to be hurting anything. Any input would be greatly apreciated

As far as I can tell, its actually a bad thing to run two firewalls on the same machine, as they can inhibit the functionality of each other, making matters worse insead of better. The Similar Thread feature brings up a useful thread -> which discusses this very concept, you might want to check it out, could have a better answer to your question.
    You're not your post count, You're not your avatar or sig, You're not how fast your internet connection is, You are not your processor, hard drive, or graphics card. You're the all-singing, all-dancing crap of AO
    09 F9 11 02 9D 74 E3 5B D8 41 56 C5 63 56 88 C0

Helsinki, Finland
    Syini666 could you please join the lines in your signature... :/