ATI Radeon driver problem in WinXP
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ATI Radeon driver problem in WinXP

  1. #1
    Fastest Thing Alive s0nIc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,584

    Question ATI Radeon driver problem in WinXP

    Error: Driver Is Stuck On An Infinate Loop

    Ok guys, i DID my research on this and yes it states that the problem is in the driver. Im actually at work now and well, my client says he already downloaded the latest drivers and so far it still havent worked. im currently running tests on his vid card on XP Pro and so far everything seems fine. So, any solutions? coz i know the problem is not in the card itself, coz the guy wants the card replaced. and i already told him even if it gets replaced, it will cause thesme problem unless he gets a different type of video card.

    Any suggestions from our dedicated viewers??

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Have you tried going to device manager and deleting the video card drivers? You could also try calling the Manafacturer, and see what they say about it.

    Also when you reinstall the drivers for the card try disabling every startup option and instaliing it only with the neccessary windows programs running. I've had programs before that wouldn't install coreectily because I had a Virus scan running or something that started up whent the computer started would interfere with it.
    =

  3. #3
    Fastest Thing Alive s0nIc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,584
    lol actually, i am currently using the default drivers that came with the CD and running 3d tests on it and so far there is nothing wrong, tho the client insist that there is something wrong. and yeah i have visited the advisories, that is how i confirmed it was driver problems and not the actual video card.

  4. #4
    Jaded Network Admin nebulus200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,356
    Have you tried uninstalling the drivers, deleting the hardware, rebooting, and then installing new drivers? Have had problems in the past where ATI driver rev's clobbered each other and had to do that (but that was in win98, not XP, so far so good there *fingers crossed*)...

    /nebulus
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

    (Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    central il
    Posts
    1,779
    Did the client install the "new" drivers himself? I have seen this problem twice, the first time it was caused by a user installing the driver for a different model of the video card he had....the second time it was a user installing a beta video driver(I have no idea where he got a beta video driver ). I hate semi-clued users they do the most damage.

    My suggestion would to be to remove the video card, replace it temporarily, boot to safe mode and remove all of its old drivers ( I would even go into the registry and remove any instance of it mentioned there, but not every one is comfortable in the registry). Reboot with the temp card, remove its drivers, put in the original card and install its original driver. Then LART the user for installing a driver himself.
    Who is more trustworthy then all of the gurus or Buddha’s?

  6. #6
    Senior Member Wazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    288
    I would yank the current drivers on his box and install the ones that came with it, just to test. Also, was the card ever working properly? If the system has an integrated video card, you may need to disable it in the bios....good luck.
    "It is a shame that stupidity is not painful" - Anton LaVey

  7. #7
    Senior Member Zonewalker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    949
    hold on all.... I've had some experience with the infinite loop problem....sonic, the following websites might help you

    http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=64 (don't forget to go to the next page on this one)

    http://members.home.nl/marf/Infinite%20Loop.html

    I know the above relate to nVidia cards (what I have) but apparently the problem is not restricted to nVidia.

    there are quite a lot of arguments saying what this is about. I'll tell you what I did

    go into the BIOS, put your AGP aperture size up to either 128 or 256MB and save it. install all of the latest drivers (like you have done). Hopefully in your drivers in the advanced properties (probably accessible by right clicking desktop> properties> settings >advanced) take down the openGL and direct draw PCI texture memory buffer to about 5MB. that should sort out most of the problems. I've noted that if you have a power supply less than 350W upping the power supply can help. Apparently getting better cooling can also help.

    some of this lot may also interest you

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...+infinite+loop

    especially the forums here

    http://forums.viaarena.com/messagevi...&threadid=9263

    hope that solves it for you

    Z
    Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides