invisible OS
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: invisible OS

  1. #1
    The Recidivist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    460

    invisible OS

    I have a dual boot of XP/Red Hat w/ Grub as my boot manager. How can I set it up where XP automatically boots and I would have to put ina disk for Linux to boot. ANyone have any ideas?


    hjack
    "Where the tree of knowledge stands, there is always paradise": thus speak the oldest and the youngest serpents.
    - Friedrich Nietzsche

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    central il
    Posts
    1,779
    Create a Floppy with Grub or Lilo on it, then run fdisk /mbr of fixmbr in windows XP that will blow out grub on the HD....Make sure you have all the settings for grub correct and that the floppy works before you blow out grub on the HD

  3. #3
    The Recidivist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    460
    Okay, thanks for the help bballad. Going to try it now.



    hjack
    "Where the tree of knowledge stands, there is always paradise": thus speak the oldest and the youngest serpents.
    - Friedrich Nietzsche

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,914
    You don't have to put a bootloader on the disk... you could also use the boot disk you created during your Linux install... or create a linux bootdisk..... and just boot directly off that, rather than using the bootloader on a floppy.

  5. #5
    The Recidivist
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    460
    HTRegz, how do i make a linux boot disk?


    hjack
    "Where the tree of knowledge stands, there is always paradise": thus speak the oldest and the youngest serpents.
    - Friedrich Nietzsche

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    106
    there should be an option in one of the pull down menus to do it ,if i remember correctly and you are using a recent rh release

  7. #7
    Senior since the 3 dot era
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    1,542

    mkbootdisk

    Howto make a boot floppy for RedHat linux without using the fancy menus?
    Well, first find the kernel version, next you can tell the mkbootdisk command to make a boot disk.
    Go to a terminal window at the prompt type:

    su
    cd /lib/modules
    ls


    the command ls will list the directory contents, here you can find the kernel version of your rh system. It will be something like 2.z.x-yy replace the z, x and y with the version number.
    Insert a floppy in your floppydrive.
    Tell the mkbootdisk command which kernel to copy and where to find the floppy.

    mkbootdisk --device /dev/fd0 2.z.x-yy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •