finding website addresses
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: finding website addresses

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    53

    finding website addresses

    k- dumb question- how do i find out the numerical address for a website? such as, how would i find out the numerical site addy for www.hotmail.com?
    -the hour has begun, your eyes are now opened-

  2. #2
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    Numerical like in IP - address ?

    If so enter the site the following site http://www.samspade.org and do a lookup...
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    109
    If you have nix or winnt, you can use the nslookup command at a console.
    $person!=$kiddie or die(\"Alas, die you hotmail hacker!!\");
    SecureVision

  4. #4
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Awwww.... Chaps...... Make it easy on the guy......

    ping www.hotmail.com returns the target's IP

    tracert XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX returns the FQDN, (Fully Qualified Domain Name), of the target IP.....
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    53
    Originally posted here by Tiger Shark
    Awwww.... Chaps...... Make it easy on the guy......

    ping www.hotmail.com returns the target's IP

    tracert XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX returns the FQDN, (Fully Qualified Domain Name), of the target IP.....
    GIRL, actually....
    -the hour has begun, your eyes are now opened-

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    207
    Couldn't you also just open up Command and use the ping function... doesn't it resolve the hostname down to the IP address?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    339
    not always, from my experiance if a site doesnt turn anything up in a whois and nslookup doesnt turn anything up, then ping usually doesnt either. So if its one of those cases youd have to let us know.
    Don\'t be a bitch! Use Slackware.

  8. #8
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Johhny, (or should that be Johnette....<s>): Sorry.....

    Plastic: Er..... Isn't that what I just said?????

    Hatebreed: You are correct. Ping/tracert do not always resolve the FQDN/IP. But then if either of these don't you usually don't get any usable information out of any other tools other than the owner of the netblock which can span several A classes.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  9. #9
    dang shrekkie sam spade is and old prog i thought peeps forgot about it. lol good program

  10. #10
    Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    992
    Well old or not... It seems to keep doing the trick ,

    Easy and quick,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •