Thread: MSCE / CCNA --Approx Time and Cost?

MSCE / CCNA --Approx Time and Cost?

MSCE/CCNA

Are courses needed, or can one just study and take (one?) exam?
    What are the approx costs for the exam?
    Approx costs for courses?

Im a recent college graduate with an IT degree. Im working at an entry level IT job right now, and im looking to pick up some certs so in about 2 years ill be able to have a little more on my resume when i start looking for real jobs. Im in the NY area.

Thanks in advance to anyone who could drop me some info!

MCSE is a lot of exams (7) and no the courses are not needed if you know what you are doing and work in the feild, but studying is needed...the microsoft way and the right way to do things are often very difrent and for the exams you need the microsoft way.
    Who is more trustworthy then all of the gurus or Buddha’s?

exams cost $125, x 7 MCSE exams + 1 CCNA= $1000
    1 book per exam avg price $50 = $400 cheaper if you find used or discount prices

so a total of $1400, which can be done.

I forgot to mention time, I took a test a week. Schedule an exam, it will motivate you to study.

Padre is right, but if you want to take the actual classes and do the labs in a lab enviroment, (and you cannot set up a lab at home) then you might want to take the MCSE classes. Those can range from $1200 to $2500 a piece.
    N00b> STFU i r teh 1337 (english: You must be mistaken, good sir or madam. I believe myself to be quite a good player. On an unrelated matter, I also apparently enjoy math.)

Trumpet-Eared Gentoo Freak
    Well,

I'm only gonna take CCNA classes. They cost classes + documentation + exams = €1500 ( approx. same in $)

Greetz,
    Come and check out our wargame-site @ http://www.rootcontest.org
    We chat @ irc.smdc-network.org #lobby

I took the classes (NT4) but had to study the material I got for 6 months before I felt I was redy to take the exams.

I found the Exam Cram books very good tho.
    eg: